Delicious Stuffed Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These were pretty good! My daughter, the picky eater, had three helpings. I had to leave the onions out, added parmesan to the potato mixture, and added shredded cheddar and mozzarella to the meat mixture. It seemed a little bland to me, even with the addition of some garlic powder, tho. I had some leftover brown gravy from dinner the nite before. Heated that up and poured it over the pancakes. It made all the difference. Will definitely make these again, with the addition of the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Garner Main
Living In: San Andreas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made these tonight for dinner & they were absolutely delish!! The only thing I added was some shredded sharp cheddar cheese to the meat mixture. I had some of it leftover so I made meatballs with it, which were delicious as well! :) I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellowlovestocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made these exactly according to the recipe. They tasted better than I expected when I was smelling them while they were cooking but were still pretty bland. I cooked the meat before putting it in the filling. I can't imagine that it would get cooked through if you didn't cook it first. The stuffing definitely needs a little more flavor. I would suggest adding some cheese, more onion and some diced bell peppers. Adding some garlic to the potatoes would also add some needed flavor. All the shredding was too much work for no better than they turned out. Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Yummie my family loved them...I did add a few more spices though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These were delicious and my family loved them! The leftovers are going in the kids lunches as "heatups". I used sage flavored sausage ...yummy! A dollop of light sour cream was added on my portion. I thought you put it on baked potato so....My husband said this is a keeper. His idea is a great breakfast meal....make beforehand and heat up when you want to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Used shredded fresh potatoes (in a green bag)found in Dairy dept at Kroger and that made it much easier! Added Garlic and I pre-cooked meat mixture to eliminate grease. These were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janetmm1968

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
As written, I'd only give this a 3 out of 5. However, with a bit of spicing up -- perhaps following some or all of the suggestions of other reviewers -- it could bump up to a 4 or even a 5. I, too, wasn't sure if I should cook the beef, beforehand, or not. It seemed to me that it wouldn't cook by itself between the layers, so I decided to follow comments of other reviewers and assume that the beef was to be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight, and it was delicious and filling! I cooked the beef and drained the fat before filling the pancakes. For the beef, I added spices (garlic and a little allspice). To the potatoe mixture, I used a whole onion and 3 cloves of garlic for taste, and also, added 1/2 cup of additional flour and 1/4 cup of milk (which makes the potatoe more of a batter, which is easier to spread when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe was very good, in my opinion. As the 'author' of the recipe said, it is a basic recipe, designed to tweak. I did customize to my own taste and added both shredded onion as well as garlic powder to the recipe. I can think of all sorts of ways to change it up and enjoy it all. Thanks Tallya for your contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was our first experience with potato pancakes. Bland and greasy - it will be a long time before we try another potato pancake recipe. This wasn't bad, but not worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States