Delicious Stuffed Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
these were really good. But I was not sure if the meat should be cooked before adding, so I cooked the meat before adding the egg and bread crumbs to be on the safe side. My kids liked them esp since they could eat them with their hands. I was a little impatient waiting to flip them becasue I was in a hurry, so I put them in the oven until I was done cooking them all to make sure they cooked thru. I will be making these again. I think I will try usung sausage and them freezing them. They would be great to reheat for a quick breakfast on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've never had potato pancakes before and I have to say I loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, using some cayenne pepper in the potato mixture and Italian bread crumbs in the ground beef. These came out so delicious! As I was frying it, the thought hit me that I could have added some shredded cheese on top the ground beef. I ended up serving these with a generous grating of cheddar cheese on top, with ketchup and hot sauce as a dip. I initially started off eating these with a fork but soon realized I could eat them like a burger! These would make a different but good lunch for kids to carry to school. Maybe by adding the cheese in the middle and seasoning the meat mixture with BBQ sauce to eliminate the need for any dip. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tallya
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Thanks for the reviews! Adding cheese sounds really good, dont know why I havent thought of it! Also I posted this as a very basic recipe, I dont like posting complex recipes because everyone has their own taste and others may not like what I do. This is just an idea, I encourage you to add your own herbs and spices, and whatever else sounds good to you. I'm sure you will enjoy it more if you make it your way. I also wanted to add that you really need to squeeze all the liquid out. Its a bit tricky because it seems as though more liquid keeps coming out. So I suggest as you are forming them, keep squeezing the extra liquid out. That might be the reason some people had trouble with them falling apart. Browla1, I wrote the recipe and there is no need to pre cook the meat filling, the frying time should be enough to cook the meat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tallya
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Oh man this sounds good! I think I will try it tonight! You know what else might be a great idea is instead of ground beef make it breakfast and have pork sausage and eggs for the filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were good, but a little bland. I agree with one reviewer that sausage would be wonderful! I drizzled mine with a little gravy and my hubby and I both liked them better that way. The hamburger does not need to be cooked first since it is only 2 teaspoons spread thinly on each pancake. 7 minutes is plenty of time to thoroughly cook it. BTW, for all of you who are leaving one star with comments that you haven't even tried the recipe yet, you should know that this is where you review a recipe, not make comments or ask questions. You're bringing down the average review rating when you do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made a few changes and will rate the result of those changes. Firstly, this is a great mealtime idea; only my meal was breakfast! Secondly, I will, because of the response, do this again. I had enough egg substitute to use in the potato mixture and only one egg left in the fridge which I used for the "filling". My filling was a good premium breakfast sausage! I omitted the garlic (no big fan, here) and used maybe a couple tablespoons finely diced onion. I pre-cooked the sausage and onion so the onion wouldn't be crunchy, just until the pink was gone in the meat, drained it really well and then continued with recipe as written. I put a drizzle of maple syrup on mine and the GK's wanted a dusting of powdered sugar on theirs. Big tall glasses of OJ, steaming coffee and a delicious breakfast was enjoyed by all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Made 1/2 exactly as recipe states. And they were very good. The second half I added cheddar cheese, and they were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe was very good, in my opinion. As the 'author' of the recipe said, it is a basic recipe, designed to tweak. I did customize to my own taste and added both shredded onion as well as garlic powder to the recipe. I can think of all sorts of ways to change it up and enjoy it all. Thanks Tallya for your contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
No one in the house liked these at all. They looked promising by the pictures but they didn't go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
So good!! I used ground round instead of beef and it turned out great. Both my kids LOVED it. My husband found the filling to be alittle bland so I will definately play around with this recipe but adding different spices to the 'meat' and potatoes. I did put cheese in with the 'meat' like others suggested. It's a keeper. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States