Delicious Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was just like my Mom's cornbread. Unfortunately, it never occurred to me to learn her recipe. After she passed away, I thought I would never have any like it again. Perfect texture and flavor. Thanks for helping me recreate a happy memory to share with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Easy and delish! Crispy on the bottom, fluffy on the inside. I made it without the honey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This recipe is dry and cakey and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Wow I could eat this whole pan of cornbread! I did as other sugg. and used sorghum molasses and I subbed out the oil in the recipe for melted butter flavored shortening. Now it's a true southern cornbread! Better than my Momma's, and that's saying a lot ;) I baked it in my heated cast iron skillet 400 degrees for 18 minutes & it was perfect! Crisp outside and moist and tender inside, not dry like some other recipes I've tried on this site :) This is my new "go to cornbread" from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was NOT a true southern recipe. NO ONE puts molasses in the mix. Maybe as something eaten with the bread. Just a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is excellent and if I could rate higher than 5 stars I would. I followed the ingredients exactly using honey and not molasses. I placed the oil in my cast iron 8" skillet and then preheated the oven with the skillet on the middle rack. I left the skillet in the oven while I prepared the cornbread. I removed skillet from oven and sprinkled the tablespoon of cornmeal on the bottom of the skillet. I then poured the cornmeal mixture in the skillet and it sizzled slightly. I placed in the oven and baked for 21 minutes. Removed and coated top with butter. Recipe did not specify white or yellow cornmeal - I used white! This is not a sweet cornbread! Outside is crisp and golden inside is moist! Excellent with honey butter! Thank you Mason for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this about a week ago for myself and my parents to serve with chili, and it went perfectly. It's moist, perfectly sweet, and not too crumbly or gritty. I appreciate this as a classic sweet cornbread recipe. I'm on here right now because I'm making it again for dinner, and I thought I should go ahead and give this guy some props. Swipe some butter on it and it is true southern goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I don't use the honey, just a little dab of sugar. I heat my 8x8 glass baking dish (with oil in it) while oven is preheating and about 5 min after oven is fully heated. I spoon the mix into the dish never taking dish out of oven. Bake at 425 for 20-22 mins. Result: perfect cornbread on inside and crispy outside crust. It's exactly how us Tennesseans love our cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is delicious!! I doubled the recipe tonight for a 10" skillet....it was perfect. It made a crispy crust and crispy on top. I set my oven to 450 degrees, though. This is now my official cornbread recipe for my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Not to my taste... very flat and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States