Delicious Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I know people hate when you change a recipe but I did. I omitted the mayo and I used a bag of frozen whole shrimp (peeled and deveined) (41-60 count). I sauted the cut up shrimp in some crab boil and butter, let cool completely, and added to cream mixture. Chilling overnight is a must. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Turn that 4oz can of shrimp into a pound and this is a good recipe. with just 4oz im thinking where is the shrimp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin_rage2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raceland, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lockport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My coworker made this for our office and it was awesome. She did make the following changes that I wanted to keep safe on here. She added additional 4oz of sour cream, additional 4oz cream cheese, 1 can crabmeat, additional 1 can of shrimp, 1/2 tsp dill and 1/2 tsp of lemon pepper. Instead of onion salt, she used dried onion flakes (rehydrated). She also increased the garlic salt to taste. Let me repeat it was amazing and our office devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We decided to try this for New Year's Eve celebrations. As other reviewers have mentioned, what turns out to be a pinch over 1 tbls. of salt is WAY to much (and I like salty stuff!). Use onion powder in place of onion salt, and garlic powder in place of garlic salt, then only use about 1 tsp. celery salt, at most! In addition, 3 tbls. of Worcestershire sauce is over-powering to the point that the dip tastes like Worcestershire dip! At most, use 1 tbls. We added an additional can of shrimp to see if we could compensate for the flavor of the Worcestershire sauce with limited success! I truly believe with the reduction in salt and Worcestershire sauce, this dip would be outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is real close to the recipe my grandfather & mother made every Christmas. I cut back on the mayonnaise & Worcestershire as suggested, used onion & garlic powders instead of salts. However, I did not add the celery salt or parsley but added horseradish. Letting it chill out in the fridge is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
There is too much Worcestershire sauce will need to make correction for the quantaty of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was my first shot at making shrimp dip, and it turned out rather well. I took other reviewers advice and cut down the mayonnaise, the worcestershire, and traded in some of the salt for garlic or onion powder instead. I used fresh parsley and frozen shrimp too. I would definitely add more shrimp than what is called for - otherwise you don't get meat in each bite. I hate rating a recipe I changed so much, but this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Abbeville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
i love this dip soo much! yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Skanee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Unfortunately I was just not that pleased with how this recipe turned out. It calls for at least 3 more teaspoons of salt beyond the worcestire sauce which is already high in sodium. All I could tast was the "saltiness". One can of shrimp is not nearly enough I added two and would have considered 3. If I do decide to try again will cut way back on the salt and use fresh parsley to replace the dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Way too salty. The only flavor tasted is the worchester.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States