Delicious Rosemary Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I consider myself an intermediate cook, but ameatur baker....and this bread turned out FANTASTIC!.....i followed the kneading instructions as stated...but not having keaded bread before...i first watched a video on you tube, finally...i turned my electric oven on to 150 to let it heat up while i was making the bread and then turned it off while kneading...so the bread would have a warm place to rise....i had to intermittently turn it on for about 30-45 seconds during the second rise...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is DELICIOUS. I added some garlic powder cause it's delicious and goes with everything. The outside is SUPPOSED to be hard and crusty. If you don't like that, then don't brush egg on yours. The egg was helps to harden and beautify the bread. If your bread isn't rising well it's to do with your yeast or your method, not the recipe itself. This is a very nice recipe for a beginning yeast bread baker because it specifies an amount of time to knead--10 to 12 minutes--instead of a texture to stop at (smooth and elastic is usually what's written). It's a very tasty bread! I think I'm going to start using this for my pizza crust...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It do not come out good at all. The outter shell of the bread was dry and hard. Not to mention that the bread did not rise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This bread is fabulous! I used crushed rosemary and spread cornmeal on the bottom of the baking sheet. I didn't use any additional rosemary on top - it all went in the bread. I served it warm with an herbed olive oil for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
delicious bread! fills the whole house with an amazing aroma and always disappears fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Really good bread. Definitely worth having fresh rosemary though. It makes the kitchen smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for, great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This recipe makes delicious, pillowy bread. I used one and a half tablespoons of dried rosemary and olive oil in place of butter. I also only allowed one rise before shaping the dough into one boule. I will definitely make this again. Without rosemary, this dough makes very soft dinner buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenfire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Awesome bread! I started making this to cut down on my grocery bill - and because my sister seems to have aquired a mild wheat allergy. I had to make a few adjustments because things weren't turning out quite the way they were supposed to. Proofed the yeast in half the sugar, then added the second half once the yeast had done its stuff. I've also found that six cups of flour is too much - I add in 5, then knead in the last cup - and it usually doesn't take a full cup. As a variation I've been experimenting with wheat flower. It's especially yummy thus far. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Oh my goodness!!! better double the recipe. first time i ever tried to make bread. i got lucky and kneaded it just right. this is the best bread ive ever eaten. didnt use the oil though. used jiffy cornbread mix in place of corn meal on bottom of pan, and it gave it a sweet flavor. man oh man. it was good. should have told the neighbor it came out like a brick and we would have had 2 loaves all to ourselves. we have already eaten it within 30 minutes. best bread ever and very easy. i will make more tomorrow and double it. kat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States