Delicious Rosemary Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I try a lot of recipes from this site, but very seldom do I feel inclined to comment. With a few minor adjustments, this recipe is definitely 5 stars! First of all, this makes 2 small loaves. I suggest doing the recipe as stated, but using the entire dough ball to make one beautiful loaf. Ok now for the recipe changes: I used fresh, minced rosemary and oregano from my garden. This makes a HUGE difference in taste. I used 2 tbsp rosemary, 1 tsp oregano, and 1 tsp garlic powder (all in the dough, none on top). I also used about 1/2 cup less flour and knead the heck out of it! I mean for 15 minutes or so. I suggest looking up videos on how to shape a bread round b/c without the proper technique and tight ball, it will be flat. Right before baking, mix 1 egg WHITE with 1 tbsp of water. Make 3 slits on top of the bread, brush with egg wash, and sprinkle with salt. Immediately when you put the bread in the oven, you need to create steam. I tossed in 1/4 cup of water on the bottom of my oven. Bake for 20 minutes and DON'T open the door! At 20 mins, open the oven, brush with egg wash again and sprinkle with parmesan cheese. Turn it around and bake for an additional 20 minutes. With these changes, you will have a bakery worthy, crusty, beautiful loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Delicious! Best bread ever! I followed the recipe but added a few cloves of fresh chopped garlic to the mixture. I also made only one loaf from the listed ingredients. It came out of the oven smelling so good! We ate it while it was still warm dipped in a mixture of olive oil, balsamic vinegar & black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Yum! This came out incredibly good for my first attempt at making bread. My husband was super impressed. I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups of white flour. My dough was very tacky so I needed the full 3 cups. I read the reviews and did an egg white wash, sprinkled remaining rosemary and some garlic powder on top and bake for 20 minutes. The crust was lightly browned and had a nice texture. The bread was a little dense but it was still really delicious. I made this because I had extra rosemary that I didn't know what to do with but I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ben28881
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I needed a half cup less flour than the recipe called for. Other than that this was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Simply delicious. I used fresh rosemary and put it all in the bread. Used the dough cycle of my bread machine, and it was a cinch to make. So easy and so good. I also sprinkled kosher salt on top after brushing with egg wash, and the little surprises of salt were delicious. The bread is nice and chewy, and my crust turned out the same. Not crispy hard, but nice and chewy. Thanks for this great recipe that I'll definitely use again....even with different herbs depending on what's for dinner. A real winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is a delicious bread. I made half the recipe, and added a little olive oil along with the butter to the mixture. I didn’t bother with the egg wash, but instead put a pan of water in the oven to create a thick crust. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I have tried other "rosemary breads" - but this one turned very very delicious!!! The butter in the recipe gives its fluffy but tender texture!!! Great for every day or it you want to surprise your guests!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This bread is awesome!! I was looking for a way to use up some fresh rosemary that my mom gave me, so I decided to make this. It is wonderful and I have to say this is my greatest success in bread making so far! The texture and taste are great, and the dough shaped up really nicely. I "kneaded" it in my kitchenaid for about 8 minutes, and since the weather here is humid I had to add a little additional flour. I actually used only olive oil as I did not have any butter. This bread was definitely a hit and I will be making it again soon! Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States