Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I have made this numerous times and don't let the few amount of pantry staple ingredients fool you into thinking this is a bland and boring dessert! Its my "go to" potluck dish and everyone RAVES how good it is!! I even have the recipe memorized! I double the recipe, add a TBL of cinnamon to the flour/oatmeal mixture, and heavily grease the 9X13 pan instead of using foil. Also, I prefer strawberry jam, but any flavor would be nice. I have also added some white chocolate chips on top, and some chopped almonds. I really love this recipe since its not very expensive to make, and the ingredients are always in the pantry. TRY IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Great recipe! Very easy and delicious. I did not use foil. I sprayed the pan with vegetable oil bottom and sides. Instead of jelly, I used raspberry preserves (with seeds because that's what I had on hand). To facilitate spreading, make sure jelly/jam/preserves are room temp. Then drop teaspoons of jjp on the bottom crust and smooth out with the back of the spoon. I had no problems with crumbling. Make sure bars are fully cooked. They're done when the edges are slightly browned and starting to pull away from the edges of the pan. The hardest part: wait until the pan is completely cooled before cutting--or they will crumble. And use a spatula to remove bars from the pan. Finally, I used a food processor. First put dry ingredients in the processor bowl and pulse lightly. Then add cubes of cold butter. I cut the stick of butter into 8 pieces. Again, pulse lightly, just until butter is incorporated. Much easier than mixing by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lellybean
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Easy, delicious, impressive. These were super simple to get into the oven, they taste amazing, and they look like they involve way more work than they do. Definitely a keeper. I used organic seedless raspberry jam from Whole Foods - the jam is the star, make sure you pick a good one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a great base recipe. I have a freezer full of berries, so instead of using raspberry jam, I added a quarter cup of sugar to two cups of berries and about a teaspoon of lemon juice and cooked them down until thick. I also mashed the berries as they cooked and added just a tad of corn starch to help it set. BUT, the cookie part was perfect as written. I loved them and my husband would not stop saying how much he loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Good, tasty and easy to make. Added cinnamon and nutmeg to the base as well as one egg (recipe doubled) to keep it together. Enjoyed by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
these are great, though a little crumbly for me. Next time I will add some mashed banana in the flour mix to keep it together and maybe a layer of peanut butter over the jelly! but even though they were crumbly, it was still delicious. just like the kind you buy at a nice cafe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
So simple and so versatile. I had about a cup of homemade cranberry sauce to use up, I used it instead of jam and it was really good. I let them cool completely and topped each square with a dollop of whipped cream. I've also made this recipe with homemade pumpkin butter(got the recipe off this site) and it was equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this tonight exactly according to recipe except I didn't have raspberry on hand so I used homemade pear butter... I didn't measure it and I don't think I used enough because it definitely could have used at least twice as much fruit... but the flavor of the crust was amazing! Basically just like the crisp part of an apple crisp on top and bottom. Heavenly. Crumbly though so next time I could see adding an egg or waiting until it cools all the way to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We liked these but it didn't wow us. They were ok. Not sure if different variations of jams or different brand might make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennellie
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I was looking for a cookie bar that would be good and delicious, but also easy to make. I came across this recipe and my first thought was, "Wow, how easy and delicious this sounds", but then I started reading the reviews and I began having doubts. But since I really didn't have time to look for anything else, and I already had the ingredients for this I decided to go ahead and risk it. I was suprised with the results. It was delicious!!! Thank you so much! It was not dry at all, the sides were a bit crunchy, but if you let it sit a day or two they soak up some of the jam. It is not at all like a "bad granola bar". I personally loved the way the sides were crunchy and the center was soft and moist. It did not crumble at all, especially if you let it sit. I added about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the "cookie dough", and when I do this again (which I will do:) I will add 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. Also since I didn't have enough raspberry jam, I did half (oh, I doubled the recipe, and used a 9x13 pan) of raspberry and the other half of blackberry. Quite delicious! I used seeded, and it worked out fine. Well, hope someone else finds this usefull. And people, STOP being so pessimistic! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,069) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States