Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by IMLIZARD
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
These bars are easy and VERY good! I line my pan with foil backed baking paper and after they cool, pull the whole thing out place on a flat surface and cut them neatly then either return to pan or place in a plastic container for storage. (although they NEVER last long!) I use black raspberry jam since that is my personal favorite and everyone loves them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I'm sure this recipe is great, but I made some modifications and mine didn't turn out well so here's what NOT to do. I doubled the recipe and like other reviewers I subbed applesauce for half the butter. In the end the cookie crust mixture was not crumbly but more like a paste. I was concerned it wouldn't cook completely but it did. However, the flavor was bland. I even added a little extra sugar but it was still bland. The raspberry filling was very tasty. I added the zest of several lemons to the jam and it was delicious. So I guess the moral of the story is to make two batches instead of trying to double when making substitutions. I will try it again because it got so many great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Very good. Almost too much jam, making them gooey and hard to cut into bars, but they taste so good. Also made peanut butter bars to go with these. There is nothing better than peanut butter and jelly desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I added an egg to the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jared Oliveira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
These are very good. Just a little too sugary for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
simple and easy. 2 and 4 yrs old and adults love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I tried this last night and my husband and I just about killed it! The only modifications I made was adding about 2 tablespoons of soft butter to the crumb mix for the topping and I pressed it down into the jam, I used blackberry and it was awesome, and we had no problem with the topping falling off. Also, I baked it in a 9x9 pan and it was a perfect depth for a bar cookie. I think thinner (a 13x9) would have made the bottom too hard. And when I wrapped it up I cut it and put it into a double wrapping of Saran and it softened up nicely without getting mushy. Wonderful Recipe! Thank you. This is now our all time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I was at the end of a tight pay period and needed something I could whip up with what I had on hand. So I substituted 1/4 c coconut oil + 1/4 c of peanut oil for the butter (because I am out). And used 1/3 c sugar (running low). Used strawberry preserves instead of raspberry. I didn't have quick oats, so I substituted steel cut oats. I toasted them in a pan over medium high heat for about 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Because of the reduced sugar I increased the flour about 1/4 cup. It all turned out fabulous- nutty and and chewy. I'm sure if you had all the correct ingredients they would be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is delicious. I used apricot/peach fruit spread, and added chopped walnuts to the top 1/2 of the crumble. delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,089) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States