Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I added a teaspoon of cinnamon. After mixing everything together, I measured out a cup for the crumb topping and added a little extra butter to the crust portion to help it stick together better; if it sticks together when you make a tight fist, it's ready to press into the prepared pan. I baked in an iron skillet lined with foil smothered in butter so that it would come out round and serve it like pie. I delicately cut into pie slices and served warm. I cut the whole "pie" completely because I was afraid when it cooled it'd crumble more easily (it shouldn't if you're gentle). These are amazing and am thinking of taking these to our family tea on Valentines Day:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMary
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
SUPERB! These are absolutely addicting and SOOOO delicious!!! Another plus??? It takes no time at all to throw these together. For as basic as these are, the flavor is OUT OF THIS WORLD! Even without additions (I wanted to add cinnamon as others have done, but forgot to...), these were P-E-R-F-E-C-T. TIPS: Be sure to NOT spread your preserve / jam layer all the way to the edge of your pan! Keep in mind that as the jam heats up, it will thin out a bit and continue to spread (which is why you need to leave a border). Also, these seem to keep better if refrigerated but that's a matter of preference, I guess - I like my bars to be firm rather than crumbly. And, whatever you do, LINE YOUR PAN with FOIL (I am SO glad I did!). Clean-up will be a BREEZE and you'll have one less dish to clean! A drizzle of melted white chocolate made these extra special. Thanks for sharing this WONDERFUL recipe, MARBALET. I can't wait to get creative and try a combination of other fantastic flavors! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I have made this numerous times and don't let the few amount of pantry staple ingredients fool you into thinking this is a bland and boring dessert! Its my "go to" potluck dish and everyone RAVES how good it is!! I even have the recipe memorized! I double the recipe, add a TBL of cinnamon to the flour/oatmeal mixture, and heavily grease the 9X13 pan instead of using foil. Also, I prefer strawberry jam, but any flavor would be nice. I have also added some white chocolate chips on top, and some chopped almonds. I really love this recipe since its not very expensive to make, and the ingredients are always in the pantry. TRY IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Great recipe! Very easy and delicious. I did not use foil. I sprayed the pan with vegetable oil bottom and sides. Instead of jelly, I used raspberry preserves (with seeds because that's what I had on hand). To facilitate spreading, make sure jelly/jam/preserves are room temp. Then drop teaspoons of jjp on the bottom crust and smooth out with the back of the spoon. I had no problems with crumbling. Make sure bars are fully cooked. They're done when the edges are slightly browned and starting to pull away from the edges of the pan. The hardest part: wait until the pan is completely cooled before cutting--or they will crumble. And use a spatula to remove bars from the pan. Finally, I used a food processor. First put dry ingredients in the processor bowl and pulse lightly. Then add cubes of cold butter. I cut the stick of butter into 8 pieces. Again, pulse lightly, just until butter is incorporated. Much easier than mixing by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lellybean
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Easy, delicious, impressive. These were super simple to get into the oven, they taste amazing, and they look like they involve way more work than they do. Definitely a keeper. I used organic seedless raspberry jam from Whole Foods - the jam is the star, make sure you pick a good one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a great base recipe. I have a freezer full of berries, so instead of using raspberry jam, I added a quarter cup of sugar to two cups of berries and about a teaspoon of lemon juice and cooked them down until thick. I also mashed the berries as they cooked and added just a tad of corn starch to help it set. BUT, the cookie part was perfect as written. I loved them and my husband would not stop saying how much he loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Good, tasty and easy to make. Added cinnamon and nutmeg to the base as well as one egg (recipe doubled) to keep it together. Enjoyed by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
these are great, though a little crumbly for me. Next time I will add some mashed banana in the flour mix to keep it together and maybe a layer of peanut butter over the jelly! but even though they were crumbly, it was still delicious. just like the kind you buy at a nice cafe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
So simple and so versatile. I had about a cup of homemade cranberry sauce to use up, I used it instead of jam and it was really good. I let them cool completely and topped each square with a dollop of whipped cream. I've also made this recipe with homemade pumpkin butter(got the recipe off this site) and it was equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this tonight exactly according to recipe except I didn't have raspberry on hand so I used homemade pear butter... I didn't measure it and I don't think I used enough because it definitely could have used at least twice as much fruit... but the flavor of the crust was amazing! Basically just like the crisp part of an apple crisp on top and bottom. Heavenly. Crumbly though so next time I could see adding an egg or waiting until it cools all the way to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,051) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States