Delicious Raisin Nut Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I fell asleep & almost didn't get any, because my hubby almost ate it all! I did add a bit of pecans & choc. chips. I don't bake often, but I will bake this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This had great flavor. I used bran flakes cereal. The raisin nut bran would have been too sweet for us. I added some mini chocolate chips and a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
So yummy and moist. You really can't tell that there is cereal in it. I used All Bran and mixed in my own raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Maine, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
yummy! almost can't stay away. too sweet for my healthy tongue (next time I'll reduce the sugar even more). good with whole wheat flour. I used regular Post raisin bran cereal. I substituted 1/4 c flax seed meal for equal portion of flour, added raisins and walnuts and cinnamon, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 C.+ raw sugar. Sorry guys, I find it really hard to bake some things without putting my own spin on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Within

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I ended up using Grape Nuts cereal with a bit of raisins added to it because it was either that, cheerios, or mini wheats; I figured it would be the best to use. Following the recipe exactly, except with a little less oil, I had myself a delicious loaf in about 40 minutes. I used a bundt pan because for some reason I ALWAYS use a bundt pan, and the flavor was delicious. My only complaint would be that my loaf of extremely crumbly, but masha says it's because the cereal I used was like rock-hard rabbit food in the beginning. Next time I'll use a more absorbent cereal. :) But after sticking it in the fridge, the taste and texture just got better and better. This IS quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is a nice, easy recipe that yields great results. It has a good texture, and the raisins are a unique but appreciated addition to re bread. I did tweak the recipe and substituted the all-purpose flour with wheat flour. Next time I make this recipe I want to add a little cinnamon. In general, it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I loved this recipe. I changed a few things though; I used 1c oatmeal in replace of the cereal and instead of using both white and brown sugar, I used a total of 2/3c brown sugar. I also added some crushed almonds and a little extra banana. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
4 1/2 stars! This was quite good! I made it as muffins (bake time = 18 minutes) and they were great for breakfast! Very filling and solid, not overly sweet. :) Many went back for seconds. I would recommend cinnamon. I may also try it again and omit raisins but add chocolate chips. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Nice twist on your average banana nut bread. I used Raisin Bran Crunch in this recipe. I also added another 1/2 c. of raisins(because isn't Raisin Bran a little skimpy with the raisins?),a 1/2 c. Craisins and a tsp. of vanilla extract. Baked up dark, so I covered it with foil halfway through. No complaints. Very tasty and hearty banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I was honestly surprised this tasted so awesome! I thought for sure I would see cereal flakes, but you would never know it's in there. I used Raisin Bran Crunch, but it seems like a perfect way to use up any cereal in your house. I also added a dash of cinnamon and a dash of cloves. Perfect with my morning cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States