Delicious Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I used half a cup of applesauce as a substitute for half of the oil, and used raisins and baked it in a large cake pan. The husband took it to work for a pot luck day and it was an instant hit! Everyone insisted that he bring it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I read a lot of reviews and made all of the changes that "SDOUGLAS" suggested, including reducing the sugar from 3 cups to 2 (I ended up using 2 1/2), more than doubled the spices, added cloves, (TASTE THE batter!), used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, mixed dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately, and added 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips. I only cooked for 20-22 minutes and they were so moist. Even the ones that I didn't use a muffin cup for popped right out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe! My family loved it. I tried 1/3 with almonds, 1/3 with macadamia and 1/3 with raisins. All three tasted good, but my favorite was the macadamia. I have even freezed it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Love this bread! My husband went crazy for it. It's Fall (almost), so pumpkin everything! This recipe was fast and easy to follow, and cooked in right under an hour. The only alterations I made were using 2 cups of sugar opposed to 3, and adding mini chocolate chips for extra sweetness (I will try walnuts next time too). Also, you might want to double up on the cinnamon and nutmeg. I used 1 1/2 tsp of each, and it could have used more. The mix makes A LOT of batter, so the spices just get lost in there. I made one large loaf and 9 muffins. Muffins were great too! The muffins baked in under 40 minutes. This recipe will be a Fall fixture in my house! Enjoy it in yours :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetdani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
The best pumpkin bread ever. I added raisins, used 1/2 applesauce, half oil. Amd I used 2 tsp pumkin pie spice. Moist, excellent flavor. I made several and gave them to friends who also thought it was the best they'd ever had. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This recipe was great. I added a cup and a half of chocolate chips. I also used 2 tsp of pumpkin pie seasoning instead of the nutmeg and cinammon. I read another review saying that this bread tates better with age. I agree with this. I don't understand why that is. I tried some last night fresh out of the oven and I could barely taste the pumpkin. This morning it was delicious. I def recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
The best pumpkin bread I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! The only thing I changed because of my family's tastes, is I tripled the cinnamon and added 2 tbls of vanilla. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I love this recipe. My mom gave it to me years ago. I don´t use any salt and in place of the spices in the recipe I use 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice +2 teaspoons cinnamon. The flour is increased to 3 1/2 cups plus 1 cup raisins instead of walnuts.It makes a lot and to avoid the raw dough in the middle, I only fill each of the two large loaf pans with 2 1/2 cups of the batter and make up 18 muffins using the rest of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
v monte: PLEASE thank your Mum for this fantastic recipe!!! For over 50 years, I've tried many pumpkin bread recipes and hated them all!Too dry, too sweet, too complicated. WHY I kept trying, I don't know. Made this without changes and it finally became the pumpkin bread of my dreams! Made them as jumbo muffins rather than loaf bread, simply to make commuting easier. Very moist, days after; rich pumpkin taste; super easy recipe...my half century quest has been solved! Passed it along to all my friends the very next day, I was that impressed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDERBERRYBABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States