Delicious Potato Salad Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Tastes pretty good but it's a heart attack in a bowl... The recipe doesn't even say to drain the bacon grease! (but I did). And it takes longer to cook than the 35 minutes indicated (like at least 20 more minutes at 350F).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
My very picky, and German, husband loved it! He said "this is a keeper", great praise from the man! It's more like a baked german potato salad/au gratin potatoes than a regular potato salad, but that's good! It was fine the way it was (I followd the original recipe to a "T"), but next time I'm going to add more cheese (on the first layers) and more salt and pepper. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
I'm not a fan of mayonaise so I've never liked traditional potato salad. While planning a BBQ I decided to search for a mayonaise-free potato salad and came upon this. It worked out wonderfully for out gathering. A real hit, leaving some disappointed when there was none left! Instead of slicing the potatoes I cubed them, which required a little longer baking time, but I was glad I did cube them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Yum! I made a slightly larger batch of this which filled a 9 x 13 dish. What little bit is left I'm having for lunch! I made a few adjustments, but didn't stray too far from the recipe. I added a little chopped celery first, then, since I couldn't find any heavy cream at the store, I substituted 1 half pint of whipping cream, and then split amount of milk in half and used sour cream to make up the other half. And added extra cheddar cheese. Not so much like a potato salad as a potato cassarole...but very yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This dish has a lot of flavor. I would serve it to anyone, anytime. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This was really good! I used bacon bits instead of having to fry up the bacon and it worked just fine. I also added some seasoning salt over the potatoes to give it a boost. I don't think this tasted anything like potato salad ~ but it did taste just like a really awesome potato skin! Yum! Thanks, Ros! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Yummy! This dish was rich and delicious. I added French onion soup mix to the milk and cream, which made it extra tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
turned out great!, perfect!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Tried this for a family get together and everyone requested the recipe! It was great. Easy to make and very tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
This casserole is okay, but heavy on the bacon and cream. I wanted more potato salad flavor, so ended up sprinkling lemon juice over my serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States