Delicious Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I don't like peanut butter cookies, but made these because my boyfriend LOVES them! I almost ate all of them!! I love BIG cookies so mine made 2 dozen & I used 1 cup of peanut butter & butter instead of shortening! GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Can't give five stars because I didn't follow the recipe as written but nevertheless my cookies turned out beautifully. What I did differently: 1) real, softened butter in place of the same amount of shortening 2) used one full cup of peanut butter 3) I used one very scant tablespoon vanilla -- maybe was more like a teaspoon and a half. I used a heaping medium sized cookie scoop to form balls and rolled them in sugar before using fork to flatten slightly with crisscross pattern. Cooked on a silicone/silpat lined very good cookie sheet in newer convection oven at 340 degrees for about ten minutes each batch. They are beautiful top and bottom and still soft and chewy tonight, hours after making them. They have a nice peanut flavor and are rich tasting thanks to the butter. As mom would warn, don't eat too many of these in one sitting or you'll get an upset tummy (but therein lies the mark of a really good cookie). These made a few dozen, enough to send in a generous portion for my husband's coworkers to enjoy tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe inspiration. This is the best PB cookie recipe I've ever made and will become my go-to PB cookie recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very good. Like many people, I used butter instead of shortening and 1 c brown sugar, 1/3 c white sugar. I also added about 1/2 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Cook Dominik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Stayed soft for days!!! I used margarine and slightly reduced the salt. We poked 6 chocolate chips or white chocolate chips in top half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Great cookie! Used butter instead of shortening and cut down a little on the sugar. I was afraid the yield would be too much but I only got 34 cookies instead of 4 dozen luckily. Very soft, savory cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
These are delicious! They stayed chewy for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
If you like thick, soft and cakey cookies, this is the peanut butter cookie recipe for you. I prefer mine a bit thinner, crispier and chewier, so will keep looking. I thought the cookies had a nice flavor, however. I used butter instead of shortening, and reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp because my butter was salted. Also, as another reviewer noted, a tablespoon of vanilla seemed like an awful lot for this size batch of cookies, so I assumed it was a typo and just used 1 teaspoon, which was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Quick and delicious peanut butter cookie! I substituted butter for shortening and they came out soft and fluffy. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I wanted to try a different peanut butter cookie recipe and decided on this one because of the ratings and most of the reviews. I have a recipe that I have used for 35+ years but I am game to trying something different. I agree with some other reviewers that this NOT a flavorful peanut butter cookie. I followed the recipe except for adding an additonal 1/4 cup of peanut butter because
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States