Delicious Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Pretty good! I ground down the oats to a finer consistancy in my blender and omitted the cinnamon this time around. No cream of tartar so I just upped the baking powder to a tsp. and used a half tsp. of baking soda. I did combine the dry ingredients first, wisked them to combine them and eliminate most lumps, then combined the wet and gently stirred the batter until just combined. Because pancake batter using oats can be a little wet at first, I let it sit for fifteen minutes while my griddle preheated and it was perfect. Good stuff! Next time, I'd like to use butter, real buttermilk instead of water and milk powder and add blueberries. NOTE: One batch of this recipe got me ten pancakes, using my 1/3 c. measuring cup for even pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
We loved this recipe. I mixed up the dry ingredients and gave them as gifts to my daughter's teachers along with a recipe card to tell them which wet ingredients to add. I did find that the salt was excessive. The recipe says "1 1/4 tsp, divided" but doesn't tell you what kind of division to do. I added the full 1 1/4 t. to the batch I made for my family, and they turned out a little too salty. I scaled it back to 3/4 t. and that was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was yummy! I did not have milk powder so I used milk instead of water and added about a tbsp of plain yogurt instead of the cream of tartar. The pancakes were very hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I was looking for a pancake recipe to make gift jars for breakfast baskets to give at Christmas... I tried this initially to see if I liked it enough to give away, and it was good, but a bit too heavy for my taste. I changed the original recipe a bit... I used one cup of white flour(eliminating the wheat flour entirely), reduced the salt to 1 tsp, and reduced the cinnamon to 1 tsp as well. I had rave reviews and half my family and friends requested the recipe for themselves... (the other half probably haven't tried it yet ;o) These are a hearty, delicious pancake! For a twist I also added chopped apple to the batter, which my finicky 2 year old granddaughter LOVED! Thanks for the recipe!!! Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
These pancakes live up to their name! I substituted 1/3 cup applesauce for the oil and it worked great! Very delicious and very filling! And with the applesauce they are low in fat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
These are the best pancakes ever. I use whole wheat flour in the entire recipe, and add a little more cinnamon and also blueberrys. Yummy! My husband and I enjoy them on the weekends for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I did as the other reviewers mentioned and increased the baking powder to 1 tsp and added 1/2 tsp baking soda. I also did not have dry milk so I used 1/4 cup milk and 3/4 cup water. NOTE * AUTHOR SAYS TO USE A TABLESPOONS OF BAKING POWDER AND CINNAMON - THESE SHOULD BE TEASPOONS! My eight year old loved these pancakes!!!! You almost did not need the syrup other than for the moisture because they are so delicious! Next time I will use fresh fruit and yogurt as a topping instead of the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I printed this out with the intention of making gifts out of them. It just barely fit into a one pint canning jar (tamped it on the counter!). I then mixed up a batch to test, and I have to say, they smelled great when they were cooking. I did not, however, care for the texture. It was kind of crunchy from the oatmeal! I prefer a different batter. I won't be using this for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I am making these again this morning~my husband and I really enjoyed the flavor and the different texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I thought these were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHOTRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States