Delicious Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I am making these again this morning~my husband and I really enjoyed the flavor and the different texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
We loved this recipe. I mixed up the dry ingredients and gave them as gifts to my daughter's teachers along with a recipe card to tell them which wet ingredients to add. I did find that the salt was excessive. The recipe says "1 1/4 tsp, divided" but doesn't tell you what kind of division to do. I added the full 1 1/4 t. to the batch I made for my family, and they turned out a little too salty. I scaled it back to 3/4 t. and that was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I printed this out with the intention of making gifts out of them. It just barely fit into a one pint canning jar (tamped it on the counter!). I then mixed up a batch to test, and I have to say, they smelled great when they were cooking. I did not, however, care for the texture. It was kind of crunchy from the oatmeal! I prefer a different batter. I won't be using this for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I was looking for a pancake recipe to make gift jars for breakfast baskets to give at Christmas... I tried this initially to see if I liked it enough to give away, and it was good, but a bit too heavy for my taste. I changed the original recipe a bit... I used one cup of white flour(eliminating the wheat flour entirely), reduced the salt to 1 tsp, and reduced the cinnamon to 1 tsp as well. I had rave reviews and half my family and friends requested the recipe for themselves... (the other half probably haven't tried it yet ;o) These are a hearty, delicious pancake! For a twist I also added chopped apple to the batter, which my finicky 2 year old granddaughter LOVED! Thanks for the recipe!!! Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
These are the best pancakes ever. I use whole wheat flour in the entire recipe, and add a little more cinnamon and also blueberrys. Yummy! My husband and I enjoy them on the weekends for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Taste was good, but I had them on Med-Low and was still burning them before they were done?!?! Maybe the cinnamon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
These pancakes live up to their name! I substituted 1/3 cup applesauce for the oil and it worked great! Very delicious and very filling! And with the applesauce they are low in fat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
The pancakes really are delicious. At the suggestion of another reviewer I reduced the salt, and I'm glad I did! I only use about 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Did not care for these. The flavor was only so-so. They were heavy & tough. I guess that is to be expected since it is made with wheat flour & oats. Way too much cinnamon. Oh, well. On to the next recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Wonderful pancakes!!! I added walnuts. They had great texture and taste. Will definitely make many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States