Delicious Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I am making these again this morning~my husband and I really enjoyed the flavor and the different texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
We loved this recipe. I mixed up the dry ingredients and gave them as gifts to my daughter's teachers along with a recipe card to tell them which wet ingredients to add. I did find that the salt was excessive. The recipe says "1 1/4 tsp, divided" but doesn't tell you what kind of division to do. I added the full 1 1/4 t. to the batch I made for my family, and they turned out a little too salty. I scaled it back to 3/4 t. and that was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I printed this out with the intention of making gifts out of them. It just barely fit into a one pint canning jar (tamped it on the counter!). I then mixed up a batch to test, and I have to say, they smelled great when they were cooking. I did not, however, care for the texture. It was kind of crunchy from the oatmeal! I prefer a different batter. I won't be using this for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I was looking for a pancake recipe to make gift jars for breakfast baskets to give at Christmas... I tried this initially to see if I liked it enough to give away, and it was good, but a bit too heavy for my taste. I changed the original recipe a bit... I used one cup of white flour(eliminating the wheat flour entirely), reduced the salt to 1 tsp, and reduced the cinnamon to 1 tsp as well. I had rave reviews and half my family and friends requested the recipe for themselves... (the other half probably haven't tried it yet ;o) These are a hearty, delicious pancake! For a twist I also added chopped apple to the batter, which my finicky 2 year old granddaughter LOVED! Thanks for the recipe!!! Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
These are the best pancakes ever. I use whole wheat flour in the entire recipe, and add a little more cinnamon and also blueberrys. Yummy! My husband and I enjoy them on the weekends for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Taste was good, but I had them on Med-Low and was still burning them before they were done?!?! Maybe the cinnamon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
These pancakes live up to their name! I substituted 1/3 cup applesauce for the oil and it worked great! Very delicious and very filling! And with the applesauce they are low in fat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
The pancakes really are delicious. At the suggestion of another reviewer I reduced the salt, and I'm glad I did! I only use about 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Did not care for these. The flavor was only so-so. They were heavy & tough. I guess that is to be expected since it is made with wheat flour & oats. Way too much cinnamon. Oh, well. On to the next recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Wonderful pancakes!!! I added walnuts. They had great texture and taste. Will definitely make many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States