Delicious Oat Bran Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I agree; this needs brown sugar for flavor. I use Sucanat (dehydrated sugar cane) which gives big molasses flavor with less sugar. Also, I added a dash of sea salt, it helps bind the flavors (just a DASH). Dates are gorgeous in this, but I only added ONE because they're so sweet. Adding organic frozen blueberries and a few sliced almonds or walnuts tossed in when the flame is off makes it anything but bland. Be adventurous--this is just a template, as all recipes are! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This recipe was ok, but not great. I will not make it again because there are too many other recipes that have the wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Unfortunately, no one in our family enjoyed this. It was mushy and had a very bland taste. We added mashed bananas for sweetness but would not do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I tried this recipe for the first time today, as I didn't have prunes I used frozen raspberries and dried apricots and nuts. It was delicious and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
an easy fast breakfast! I used xytol to make mine sugar free, mixed in sugar free strawberry jam, and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a great quick breakfast, with a few healthy modifications: instead of sugar substitute 1/2 t of brown sugar and 1/2 t of honey. Plus 1 tbs of wheat germ. After reading the other reviews I decided to add half of a mashed banana, yummy! Plus a half ounce of walnuts, for extra protein. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Wow! I made this exactly as the recipe states & it's so good!! What a great, easy breakfast, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I accidentally put the oat bran in the pot before it was boiling, but it worked fine. It was a little but bland at first, so I added some honey. Yum! So I'll give it 5 stars with the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I bought a big bag of this by the pound at the local health foods store and wasn't sure how to cook it. Thank you for the recipe. I used bananas because I didn't have any plums, as well as a tablespoon of ground flax seed for added fiber. Sooo yummy! I like how creamy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is so filling and keeps me on the go until lunch. I usually add 1/2 tsp of Natural Molasses brown sugar, 1 tsp of pure clear honey, 1/2 of a small chopped banana and a pinch of ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States