Delicious Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I've made this soup twice now and I will say I prefer NOT blending any of the soup- we like chunks of veggies - not pureed veggies! Also, when I blended, I only blended half of the mixture so that there still were some chunks. Instead of just carrot OR celery stalk I used both - and 2 of each since we love veggies in our house. I also use orzo instead of rice and added 1T of hot red pepper sauce (rooster) when I added the soy sauce. Not TOO many changes but enough to make it a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffaloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I made this soup for my roommates and it came out wonderfully. I used both carrots and celery, I substituted vegetable stock for chicken broth and I let it simmer for close to three hour. I chose not to blend it at the end to leave it a little chunky. Everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Easy to make and quite good. I used wild rice and portobello and button muchrooms. Low salt/no fat chicken broth lowers fat content, also. All in all, fabulous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This ended up as a tasty, hearty, vegetarian soup following the advice of other reviewers: added garlic, more carrots and celery, dry sherry and Sirucha hot pepper sauce. I used 4 portobello mushroom caps, home made vegetable broth, 3 Tbs. brown basmati rice and 3 Tbs red lentils and simmered for about an hour an a half until the brown rice was soft and the lentils disintegrated. This made it acceptable for South Beach Diet phase 2. I may try to make it creamy by imersion blending it with the fat free half and half I impulsively purchased in a SBD shopping frenzy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I followed the recipe with two exceptions. I added two cloves of crushed garlic and 1/4 cup of sherry. The soup was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This tasted wonderful! I used 1/2 cup rice to make it thicker, and I did not process the contents in a blender, I left it as is, and it came out absolutely wonderful! This is definitely a recipe that you can have fun with... my father suggested adding fresh, crisp bean sprouts right at the end (mixed in right before serving) to add another texture to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I omitted the soy sauce and opted to use lower sodium veggie broth to cut down on the salt content. I also added a few cloves of garlic. Turned out VERY yummy. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Yummy! I will be making this soup again soon since hubby and I ate almost all of it in one sitting. I recommend not adding additional salt. I used low sodium soy sauce with no extra salt and it was perfect. I also used barley instead of rice and did not puree the vegetables. I'm sure it would be equally good pureed - we just happen to like the chunkiness. You won't be disappointed with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very tasty soup. I added garlic and carrots and extra celery. Did not blend the soup. I'll use less soy sauce next time but that is a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I tied the recipe but without the rice. It's good for people who's on a diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States