Delicious Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
In the cold weather we try to make a different soup each week. This was the soup of the week. This is not your ordinary mushroom soup. It is the healthy version without the heavy cream. I followed the recipe except I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth (sorry vegetarians). My husband loved it. He told me it was a definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great base to work with. Second time I omitted the carrot, used organic vegetable broth, added about a 1/2 inch chunk of grated ginger. I added cubed med-soft tofo at the end and served it sprinked with sliced green onions. I had used an organic brown rice mixture, but will probably omit for just tofu next time. Too pretty to blend. Perfect the way it is. It may reduce while simmering, so be prepared to add more stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Have made this many times, just kept forgetting to review. I converted it to a crockpot, use 8 cups of broth, 6 tablespoons of soy sauce and add some garlic. I also add 2 frozen chicken breasts, then shred right before serving, to make a complete meal. I cook brown rice separately, then add 1/2 cup to each bowl when serving. Complete meal,low calorie, healthy, tastes great. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent. I used brown rice, low sodium soy, vegetable broth, and olive oil because that's what I had available. I tasted the broth before re-introducing the blended ingredients and I think the blending is very necessary to the flavor of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Followed the recipe to the letter and it came out great. Used fresh mushrooms. It was hearty and full of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I love this soup both plain and my variation of it. I used a lower sodium chicken broth. I actually cooked some lightly seasoned chicken thighs until the meat was falling off of the bone and added into the soup and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! I used fat free low sodium broth, and cut out the soy sauce due to allergies. I also used brown rice because it was what I had on hand. I only blended 1/2 the veggie/rice because I like chunks of mushrooms. Satisfying, healthy and cheap too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCH708

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Two words brown gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
EXCELLENT! my fiance is not a soup person but he asks for this one all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Made as written except left chunky -- yum! Next time going to try skipping the saute and substituting barley for rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States