Delicious Matzo Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is so addictive. I made two batches, one with chocolate top and no nuts, the other with nuts and no chocolate. I have also made it with graham crackers and another recipe I saw used saltine crackers. I did use the mini chips, which eliminated the necessity of putting it back in the oven. By the time I sprinkled the chips all over the top, they melted and spread without trouble. Make sure you put foil or parchment on your cookie sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Don't subsitute the butter for anything else :( I made this with light butter and the caramel never set up. Didn't stop me from eating some before I threw it out. Shame on me for trying to save a few calories! I'll be making this again with regular butter, I'm looking forward to a second attempt. I made this in a bakery I worked in years ago and it was delicious. *Edit, I made this again with butter and it made all the difference. It came out perfect. I laso let it cool for a few hours. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I love this recipe! I've been making it for years with saltines as well. I don't know if it's a computer glitch, but the proportions are off a bit. The amount of butter, brown sugar, chocolate and nuts are enough for ONE pan - not two. I used 6 crackers on one pan and had another pan ready just in case. The thick caramel was just the right amount for the one pan - it would not have stretch ed to cover both. Ditto on the chocolate and nuts. So if you want to make two pans, you need 12 crackers, 2 cups of butter, 2 cups of brown sugar, 4 cups chocolate chips and 2 cups chopped nuts! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years. Found it in the Los Angeles Times. I always have to make a triple batch to have extra on hand for everyone to take home from Passover. It is fun to add other toppings besides chopped nuts. Try white or dark chocolate instead of semi sweet chocolate Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Feitelberg Jonah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made this for Passover and WOW, was it ever a hit. I made 1/2 w/o nuts for those that don't like or are allergic to them. Both 1/2's went very fast, but he nuts were the best. I used Pecans, I like the taste better. I also used mini choc. chips and didn't have to put the trays back in the oven. They melted very quickly. I kept the 2nd tray in the oven while I worked the chips onto the first tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This a wonderful chocolate brittle to end a seder meal. I make it every year and it is one of the most popular desserts that I put out. It wouldn't be Passover without them. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I've made this every year for the past 20 years;it is my most requested recipe from friends and family. Instead of walnuts, I use 1C chopped pecans and 1C slivered almonds. Melt margarine (to be pareve) or butter (dairy) w/1C brown sugar, pecans & almonds, bring to a boil, then let simmer for 2 minutes. Pour over large matzah boards placed on a greased rimmed cookie sheet (break to fit - leave no holes). Bake @ 350 for 7 - 10 minutes (middle rack). Remove from oven & sprinkle w/semi-sweet chocolate chips; spread chocolate. Allow several hours for chocolate to harden. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Yummy! I made this for our seder and everyone loved it. I even gave some to my husband's employee and wife who apparently ate the whole bag very quickly. It did stick some using the foil but not a huge deal. Easy cleanup. I sprinkled mine with pecan chips and they were definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This flew off the plates at my boyfriend's family Passover Seder. We didn't have nuts on ours and it wasn't exactly crunchy, but we couldn't keep our hands off before OR after dinner! Keep them in the fridge (freezer even better) to prevent them from getting soggy and melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States