Delicious Matzo Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I love this recipe! I've been making it for years with saltines as well. I don't know if it's a computer glitch, but the proportions are off a bit. The amount of butter, brown sugar, chocolate and nuts are enough for ONE pan - not two. I used 6 crackers on one pan and had another pan ready just in case. The thick caramel was just the right amount for the one pan - it would not have stretch ed to cover both. Ditto on the chocolate and nuts. So if you want to make two pans, you need 12 crackers, 2 cups of butter, 2 cups of brown sugar, 4 cups chocolate chips and 2 cups chopped nuts! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I've made this every year for the past 20 years;it is my most requested recipe from friends and family. Instead of walnuts, I use 1C chopped pecans and 1C slivered almonds. Melt margarine (to be pareve) or butter (dairy) w/1C brown sugar, pecans & almonds, bring to a boil, then let simmer for 2 minutes. Pour over large matzah boards placed on a greased rimmed cookie sheet (break to fit - leave no holes). Bake @ 350 for 7 - 10 minutes (middle rack). Remove from oven & sprinkle w/semi-sweet chocolate chips; spread chocolate. Allow several hours for chocolate to harden. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I am familiar with this recipe and have made it every Passover for the last several years. It is delicious by itself or served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Good recipe, but only use the TOP RACK of the oven to prepare, as it will burn on the bottom rack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is so addictive. I made two batches, one with chocolate top and no nuts, the other with nuts and no chocolate. I have also made it with graham crackers and another recipe I saw used saltine crackers. I did use the mini chips, which eliminated the necessity of putting it back in the oven. By the time I sprinkled the chips all over the top, they melted and spread without trouble. Make sure you put foil or parchment on your cookie sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Don't subsitute the butter for anything else :( I made this with light butter and the caramel never set up. Didn't stop me from eating some before I threw it out. Shame on me for trying to save a few calories! I'll be making this again with regular butter, I'm looking forward to a second attempt. I made this in a bakery I worked in years ago and it was delicious. *Edit, I made this again with butter and it made all the difference. It came out perfect. I laso let it cool for a few hours. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years. Found it in the Los Angeles Times. I always have to make a triple batch to have extra on hand for everyone to take home from Passover. It is fun to add other toppings besides chopped nuts. Try white or dark chocolate instead of semi sweet chocolate Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Sooooo good! I halved the recipe but next time I might as well double it. I lined the tray with parchment paper instead of foil and there was absolutely no sticking at all. I also added a pinch of salt, which gave a nice oomph to the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
You wouldnt think crackers make a good candy but it is the BEST...SOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Word of caution...don't let yourself get distracted like I did while cooking the butter and brown sugar. If the toffee gets too hot it will bubble up and almost become foamy. The sugar crystallizes and thickens which makes the pouring/spreading process onto the matzo very difficult. My first batch wasn't ruined per say because I'm sure the flavor is still good. But my second batch (which I watched and stirred constantly) came together with ease and will probably have better texture. Sad part is I knew better but oh well! I'm still very excited to try it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States