Delicious Herbed Spinach and Kale Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
The herbs really make this tasty! I add 1 cup of cooked Quinoa and 1/2 cup of finely chopped red bell pepper with 2 cloves of garlic (slightly cooked). My 7 year old son eats them and so does my husband. I make these every month, but also use fresh spinach and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have to give this recipe 5 stars just because it make Kale and Spinach taste pretty good. These are different from what you normally find but they are one heck of healthy snack even with the added ingredients. After reading one of the reviews that said they were good cold, I had to try. Yes they are good cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Used these as an appetizer for Thanksgiving, this year. LOVED them! I had a tough time finding frozen Kale, and may make these with all spinach in the future. I sauteed the onion in a couple Tbsp of butter and olive oil, then did not add any more oil. I thawed and drained the spinach and kale together, then mixed them, the onion, and egg together. I mixed the dry ingredients together [minus the sage and oregano - because I was out], and mixed the dry into the wet ingredients. I rolled them into balls, refrigerated them overnight, and baked them Thanksgiving morning. I got 18 balls out of this recipe. Thank you, so much for sharing! *edit* I made another batch of these, and was having issues with them getting stuck in my teeth. I finally figured out that it's the kale stems. My next batch will be all spinach, no kale - which I think will solve this problem. If you are dead set on using kale, I would either run the thawed, drained kale through the food processor - or use fresh, cutting out the tough stems, first...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
These are delicious and even my 2 year old likes them! Great way to get those greens into your diet. I plan on making these for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Funny, just like everybody else has said these are surprisingly good! I was a little skeptical but they're fantastic! Even my 15-month-old daughter likes them! I use almost all Kale (we tend to have great success growing Kale in our garden, too much success!!) and simplify the herb mix, usually just a few like oregano and basil for a more italian taste, this recipe is easily tweaked for your tastes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I've made them into bars a few times and they turn out well. However, they're a bit stringy so it's hard to cut them smoothly. I think I line the pan with baking paper, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I was totally overwhelmed by my farm share veggie share. I didn't want to do kale chips (again!) so was trying to find something different. I don't know how accurately I can review this because I used what I had on hand.... (scapes instead of garlic powder, scallions instead of onions, swiss chard instead of spinach. Fresh everything, nothing was frozen.) They turned out AMAZING. My husband (big meat eater) even compared them to meatballs and he loved them too. I dipped in sour cream (because I'm a big "sauce" person). If I get more kale in this week's veggie share I would certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Love it! Use it for a healthy snack or side dish. It's really easy and they last for awhile in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
When I ate one it was way better than I expected them to be. I decided to make this recipe because I needed to get rid of some frozen kale and spinach I bought at costco. The things I changed was I added 2 slices of precooked crumbled bacon and sauteed the onion in the bacon grease with 2 cloves of minced garlic. I think I will now be making these once a month. I also feel they will freeze and reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by detack@charter.net
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great way to prepare a quick and healthy snack. I found a 4lb bag of frozen kale at my local Costco for 3.99 so these will become a staple in my house. I used panko because that's what I had and used half fresh Parmesan and half grated Parmesan. I also chopped the kale more because there were quite a few larger stems. I found my cook time to need an additional 7 to 10 minutes. Good right out of the oven, cold out of the fridge or reheated as a side fir dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by detack@charter.net

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States