Delicious Healthy Strawberry Shake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This tasted like a mix between and shake and a smoothie and was really delicious! I love that it has a thicker texture like a shake, but is healthy like a smoothie. My 2.5 year old son loved it and kept calling it "ice cream". I did make a few changes. I only used 1 cup of skim milk, increased the honey to about 2 Tbs and the vanilla to 2 tsp. ** I also used my Magic Bullet, which made it EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I added a little bit of sugar like what the others suggested and it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very bland and not quite sweet enough. My husband loves strawberry milkshakes and he gave it a major thumbs down. My 2-1/2-year-old drank several sips happily, but not a full serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
It was okay after I added 5 tablespoons of sugar to get rid of the bitter honey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I made this with only 1 cup of milk so it would be thicker as others suggested and this turned out great. Didn't need to sweeten it up at all. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rockabella
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I followed this recipe generally and the strawberry shake turned out so delicious and thick and creamy, even though it didn't use any cream or ice-cream. I froze about 3 cups of fresh strawberries in the freezer then pulsed them in a blender. I then added milk and continued blending it till it was a thick and smooth consistency (about 2 cups of milk, I think). I then added white sugar (as I didn't have honey) until it reached the desired sweetness (about 4 tablespoons). We all enjoyed it and it was very filling because of the large quantity of strawberries in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockabella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
These are tasty! Rated at a 4 because I added a little bit of sugar (1/8th cup?). I have made them several times and will continue to do so! They're very easy to make! Clean-up is a breeze if you rinse the blender right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
this was great, i didn't expect it to be a restaurant version of a shake...because i was looking for a HEALTHY way to enjoy my frozen strawberrys, but still enjoy them. I thought this was good and decided to try the recipe exactly as it is written even with all the reviews urging change. Only thing i did was put it in the freezer for a couple of minutes to get icy..(but i do that with most milkshakes i make) thank you for this delicious strawberry shake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was pretty bland and thin in consistency. I followed the recipe and ended up throwing it back in the blender with a banana and a cup of ice. That made it a little better but I don't think I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This just didn't do it for me. Firstly, it was too tart. I threw in a couple tablespoons of sugar, and then it was sweet enough, but it was still bland. I think it needs flavored yogurt both for texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States