Delicious Healthy Strawberry Shake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I thought this was okay. I added two tablespoons of sugar and omitted the honey, since I don't like honey in my shakes. I thought this was more like a smoothie than a shake, though! If I make this again I will probably tweak it a bit more! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Doubling everything but the milk, and tossin' in a few extra berries, the consistency was great - however, I thought it needed a bit of sugar - added 1/4 cup, next time I'll go with 2 tbs instead. Quick and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
pretty good for not having icecream or some sort of juice. good if you are limited with your ingredients list. i used agave instead of honey as i had none on hand, and used fresh strawberries instead of frozen and just added ice until it was the right consistency, i also cut the milk to 1 1/2 cups, it wasnt sweet enough for me so i added about 3 tablespoons of white sugar to the whole thing, which wound up being about 26 oz. i'm going to try and find a way to make it more tangy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heartofatexan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Was delicious as stated. No need to add any sugar here. Not like a takeout shake, but that's not what I was aiming for. I've also made this with rice milk and almond extract for a different taste. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I gave it four stars because I adjusted the recipe quite a bit. I added 3/4 cup to 1 cup Fresh strawberries, 1 very ripe banana, 1 cup frozen mixed fruit (blueberries, raspberries and blackberries), as well as some pineapple- I know this is a strawberry shake recipe, but I didn't rate it of its strawberry-ness-. I substituted sugar instead of Honey, although I used less than 1 tsp because of my ripe bananas. I also reduced the milk to 1 cup which gave it a nice light and frothy texture. Next time, for a little kick I'm going to add some lemon juice to give it a sweet but tangy flavor, and maybe try to reduce the blackberries, the seeds are killing me. Furthermore, I didn't add any ice, because of the frozen berries, but I might add few next time. Overall this is a nice foundation for a variety of shake flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A PDX Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Understated but very good. I doubled it for my kids and I and cut back on the milk just a bit. (We like a thicker shake.) Killed the sweet cravings and made for happy kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
this was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is by far the BEST smoothie that I've had. It's the same yu can get at a resturant but at home and with less calories. My mom and I LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This tasted like a mix between and shake and a smoothie and was really delicious! I love that it has a thicker texture like a shake, but is healthy like a smoothie. My 2.5 year old son loved it and kept calling it "ice cream". I did make a few changes. I only used 1 cup of skim milk, increased the honey to about 2 Tbs and the vanilla to 2 tsp. ** I also used my Magic Bullet, which made it EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I added a little bit of sugar like what the others suggested and it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States