Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Delicious! I usually don't follow recipes exactly, but for this I came close....except for 2 things, I added 1/3 cup sliced baby carrots just because I had them on the fridge, and 1 extra TBL flour in the butter when making the sauce because of reviews that the soup was thin. This is a keeper. It was even better a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Rich, thick and delicious. This is a great recipe to use leftover ham. I did not measure the celery or the onion, and added chopped carrots. We actually liked this soup better the second day for lunches. It was a little thicker once it cooled down and was reheated. Thanks ELLIE11 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
So good, there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Very tasty soup and fast and easy to make. My family loves this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I've made potato soup before. Just don't compare to any I've had when we eat out but this one is amazing! It was very easy and amazing. I had to adjust the recipe a little. First I doubled it so I could freeze half (not sure if it freezes well but worth a shot), I also didn't have any celery so I used a little bit of celery salt and omitted the extra salt later. I followed the advice to limit the pepper as well by another reviewer. I'll be adding some cheese to each serving and can't wait to eat a whole bowl for dinner instead of sneaking bites before we plate it up. My only complaint is that it's not thick. This is a pretty soupy soup. I'm assuming you could thicken it some more but it's good just the way it is. Maybe the freezer batch will thaw out thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My whole family loves this! Although we do add triple the amount of ham, and then no salt. Just not enough ham in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Best soup EVER! Loved by all in my family especially with fresh bread to dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Just made this for dinner and my hubby and I both rate this a 5 star recipe! Fast and easy to make, and simply delicious, as advertised! Rich and yet easy on my diet, too! Paired with a nice tossed salad, we both enjoyed dinner completely! This is definitely a make again recipe for me! Thanks so much for sharing!!! Oh, and I followed the recipe. I won't rate a recipe if I've changed something, because then I'm basically rating my own recipe! lol Great job, Ellie11!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Most delicious potato soup I've had. I did add some shredded cheese to the bowl, but that was my only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa24
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I knocked this one out of the park! Easy to make and hubby loved it! Added my own twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 7,937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States