Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Delicious! The taste I was hoping for! Like some others, I used chicken broth as I didn't have boullion cubes available. The roux took longer to thicken than 5 minutes, so stick with it, just don't forget to keep stirring! Served with a sprinkle of shredded cheddar cheese, bacon bits and croutons on top and Italian bread on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I used ham from cracker barrel and it was delicious! I will make it again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Nihoris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
First time I have made this and it came out perfect . I wouldn't change a thing. It's delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Loved this recipe! Great as-is or as a base. We added chopped carrots and also topped with some shredded cheddar and finely chopped scallions upon serving, but even without, it would've been delicious. Takes more than 20 minutes to prep, but overall, doesn't take too long to make for a great soup. Adding this to our rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colette Bruce
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My gosh, I have made many recipes of potato soup, but this recipe is so easy and simple . The best part is, it tastes like heaven to me. If u like scalloped potatos and ham, then this is especially for u cuz it tastes like that but in soup form. I didnt put celery in because i didnt have any and i cut the ham up and cooked it a little in a frying pan, no oil or anything just the ham. Doing that drew out some of the juice from the ham and if u do this do not over cook or the juice will cook away. Then i poured the ham and juice into the pot with the potatoes and etc. This will be my go to recipe from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette Bruce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I used salt pork instead of ham. This turned out really good quick and easy. I would add more potatoes and to thicken up the soup I puréed half of the potato mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Truly a simple, easy soup that turned out amazing! My whole family kiddos 4,4 & 3 loved it. It's a keeper for sure ?? Highly recommend this if you are looking for that something to hit your spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Holloway Webb
Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was a wonderful soup! I served it with fresh rolls, and at least 3 times during our dinner my husband said how great this soup was. I made it last night and had it again for lunch today and it is even better! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I have made this soup more times than I can count and it's perfect every time! I make the recipe just as is except I add diced carrots. Everyone that comes over says it's the best potato soup they've had. My husband and kids love it too. I always chop up a scallion and freshly grade Cracker Barrel sharp cheddar. Last week when I made this, I put everything in the crockpot in the morning and then made the rue right before serving. Still turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 8,226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States