Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Outstanding. I did sauté carrots, onion & celery (ok ... and a little garlic) prior to adding stock (all stock in place of water) and ham. Seriously delicious. Thanks so much for recipe. I knew there was no way 7000+ people could be wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I cut everything in half but then doubled the onion, and added spinach. i also used almond milk and gluten free flour because of food allergies. but overall it was pretty good. Next time I would use less potatoes, even more onion, and a little less flour. that could just be because of it not being real flour though. I also didn't add any salt and it was perfect because of the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
A fairly simple recipe. I used my own chicken stock instead of the bouillon. I topped it with chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Very yummy comfort food,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My family loved this soup! And it was so easy because we had already made the ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
True to the title. It really was delicious! I served it with a simple side salad. My boyfriend and I enjoyed it very much. Pretty different from the recipe my mom made. She always just used bacon to top it off with no ham. I liked the change a lot! Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was really a winner for us! More of a chowder than a broth-soup. I tasted along the way and found that the "Better than Bouillon" we used added the right amount of salt, no additional was needed for us. Also, I used another reviewers suggestion and sauteed my onions first. I used a can of evaporated milk for the roux, because I forgot that we ran out of milk and it did the job perfectly! Lastly, I did add a small can of corn, because we like the depth of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnPointe
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It was awesome, an I am not a fan of potato soup, but this was easy to prepare an has wonderful flavor! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Fantastic basic recipe! I also added diced carrot and sometimes corn. I also add chives, parsley, and/or green onion as a garnish. Make sure your potatoes, etc are soft before you finish, usually takes longer than the time suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Made this for a Brunch potluck at work and it was a hit! I love the pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 8,017) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States