Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I have made this recipe MULTIPLE times, and we simply love it. It's quick, easy, filling, and most importantly. . .delicious! I will say that it can be a tad salty because of the bullion, but otherwise I have absolutely no complaints about it. We prefer our potato soup a little creamy, so I tend to mash the soup a little towards the end of the process to make it creamier. It turns out perfectly every time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Smitherman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I used big chunks of potatoes, cooked in crockpot on high for 6 Hrs then finished off with thickening. I'm not a fan of celery So I left that out. So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Delicious, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I found this to be a bit boring. I didn't have any leftover ham, so I bought a 7 oz ham steak which gave me twice as much ham as I needed; I ended up tossing a little extra into the soup, which I probably shouldn't have done. FYI, 2 TBLSP of bouillon normally mixes with 6 cups of water, so this recipe is changing that ratio... meaning you probably shouldn't be substituting chicken broth. 3.5 cups of potatoes ended up being 1.25 pounds. I left out the salt and reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp. I tasted it and because it was bland, I tossed in an 8 oz package of shredded cheddar, which helped. For those of you who thought the sauce was too thin, you just didn't cook it long enough - if you used a small saucepan, it will require more time than the recipe indicates... just keep with it until it's the consistency that you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This is probably one of the only recipes that I haven't had to change one thing. It is so easy and so delicious. I use this every time that we have leftover ham (Easter and other 'hammy' holidays). Whenever I make this, I tend to sauté the onions and celery for about a minute before adding the potatoes, ham & water. The first time I made this I added a little touch of salt to it and it made it SO salty. This is why I don't change a thing on this recipe. It's wonderful, homey and just what you need on a cold evening (which is few and far between in So. Cal.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
OH MY GOODNESS!!! I have never had a soup so good before!!!!!! It is out of this world!!!! I did run out of milk while making my soup so I ended up using 1/2 c of milk and 1/2 c of heavy cream and 1c of water. I will make this soup for the rest of my existence!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I made this over a weekend when I was recovering from the extraction of my upper wisdom teeth and I was wanting something substantial that wouldn't require a lot of chewing. For that reason, I let the potatoes cook a bit longer than called for ... And it was perfect! Really, the only change I made was substituting some prosciutto, as it was the only "ham-like" thing I had in the fridge. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Very happy with the results. I will definitely keep this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginger Antuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I have made this many times. I use a few to many potatoes and puree them and add back with the soup so as to thicken it and not just taste like gravy. Kids love it! Add cheese on top and bacon to really make them love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmorgan71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Photo by Kira
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This recipe is delicious and easy. I made a few changes to the serving sizes and cooked the ingredients in chicken broth and then added the bouillon but just put in 1tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 8,698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States