Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Bonnnair77
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is the best potato soup I've ever made. I use golden potatoes, substitute 1 cup of unsalted chicken stock for the bouillon, and add a half cup of shredded cheddar cheese during the last 5 minutes of cooking. And, since I use additional liquid, at the end I boil for an additional 5 to 10 minutes while stirring. After the pot has sat for 10 minutes, I serve each bowl with a sprinkle of shredded cheddar cheese, a dollop of sour cream (or whipped cream cheese), and crushed pretzel chips. Total comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnnair77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I could not stop eating this soup! It has excellent flavor and does not take a long time to make. Will be one of my go to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is salty. Again my husband loved this and i just though it was ok. There are so many other creamed soups I'd rather have, but I think that is a personal taste preference. With that being said, my husband gobbled it up and loved it and asked if there were any leftovers for tonights dinner. However if I never made it again I don't think it was memorable enough for him to ask me for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Very tasty and perfect for a chilly day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Success! My husband loved this recipe. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Very good but it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Amazing! The best soup I have ever had. My 2 year old loves eating this it is his winter favorite. I will add a couple of sliced carrots to the mix, and leave the potato skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Outstanding. I did sauté carrots, onion & celery (ok ... and a little garlic) prior to adding stock (all stock in place of water) and ham. Seriously delicious. Thanks so much for recipe. I knew there was no way 7000+ people could be wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I cut everything in half but then doubled the onion, and added spinach. i also used almond milk and gluten free flour because of food allergies. but overall it was pretty good. Next time I would use less potatoes, even more onion, and a little less flour. that could just be because of it not being real flour though. I also didn't add any salt and it was perfect because of the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
A fairly simple recipe. I used my own chicken stock instead of the bouillon. I topped it with chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 8,085) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States