Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Great recipe. My only complaint was that it was too salty, but if I was cooking it instead of my (wonderful, generous) husband, I would have tasted it before adding the second tablespoon of bouillon and the 1/2 teaspoon of salt, but dear husband likes to follow directions precisely. Otherwise it was DELICIOUS and a fabulous way to use up the leftover Easter ham. He also added some leeks in addition to the onion, and they went very well with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Delicious recipe! The only thing I did different was I added finely chopped broccoli and sautéed bacon. It was a success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I loved it. followed directions exactly except for a little more ham. Some ppl said in their reviews it wasn't thick enough, so I added a can of cream of broccoli soup with the flour/butter/milk mixture. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Wow that was so yummy. Even my husband loved it!! Used,my leftover Easter ham and put the bone I there too, also added carrots, and used chix broth instead of the water and bullion. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ezwriter
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I left out the milk and used homemade turkey broth with the ham bone to thicken with the flour. I didn't have celery but added spinach. Came out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was great. I used a ham steak (1/2 of it) and it was enough. Will make this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I wanted something easy that I could make the day before Easter so I didn't end up in the kitchen when we had company. This recipe was simple and to the point, and absolutely delicious! Chunky, creamy, and savory. I am pairing it with italian bread and individual salads. Thank you for giving us more time for egg hunts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
4/14 very good no changes except added a little cheese to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is very good soup. (I also like to add a thinly sliced carrot and melt a cup of cubed Velveeta in it for a cheesy flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
this got rave reviews we used a smoky bacon and it gave it a very good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 7,945) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States