Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I love it! I too used celery seed, 3/4 cup shredded Colby jack, and some frozen corn. So hearty and my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
easy and excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is a pretty good comfort fall weather food. I used chicken broth instead of water because I had no bouillon on hand. I also used a ladle and mashed some of the potatoes in the soup with it so it was even creamier. Will make again because we love chunky creamy soups that don't rely on processed ingredients or salty seasonings but are flavorful on their own. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mostlyprobably
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! I added/changed a few things though: sliced boiled carrots, celery seed (my husband despises cooked celery), used half milk and the other half and half, beef broth, 3 tbsp minced garlic, onion powder (I am highly allergic to raw onion), minced cooked bacon (to taste) and a little extra butter. I partially mashed the potatoes to make the soup heartier. Before I could tell him I was thinking of keeping the recipe, he said he loved it and I should definitely make this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn
Living In: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
THE MOST AMAZING SOUP EVER!!!!! Add cheese and perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe! I added it to my Recipe Box on here a while ago and just now happened to make it since we had potatoes. One word: YUM. I did not have ham on hand to use, but it was excellent without it. Also, I didn't use an actual onion; I used onion powder. Not big on onions, but that did the trick. Lastly, added a bit more potatoes and celery (I like a THICK potato soup) and a bit less salt and pepper. Beware to not add too much salt--especially with the added bouillon cubes already in there providing salt. EXCELLENT recipe overall! Can't wait to try it with ham sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made as written, with the addition of carrots. 4 servings was perfect for meal-sized portions for 2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
My family went crazy over this recipe. They ask for it time and time again. So easy to use up leftover ham. It needs no modifications but I recommend at least doubling it. It also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as is except I sub'd chicken broth for the water only because I had a lot of chicken broth on hand. The soup was delicious and very creamy. The important thing to making it creamy is cooking the flour roux long enough so it's nice and thick. I was originally gonna use heavy cream instead of milk, but I'm so glad I used milk since heavy cream would have been over-kill. This is a VERY easy recipe if you have leftover ham to use up. I'm giving it 5 stars because it tastes good and it is EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEESELF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,086) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States