Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was great. I used a ham steak (1/2 of it) and it was enough. Will make this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I wanted something easy that I could make the day before Easter so I didn't end up in the kitchen when we had company. This recipe was simple and to the point, and absolutely delicious! Chunky, creamy, and savory. I am pairing it with italian bread and individual salads. Thank you for giving us more time for egg hunts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
4/14 very good no changes except added a little cheese to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is very good soup. (I also like to add a thinly sliced carrot and melt a cup of cubed Velveeta in it for a cheesy flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
this got rave reviews we used a smoky bacon and it gave it a very good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is an excellent, easy to make soup. I made it exactly as stated minus the extra salt and it was tasty and delicious. My leftover ham was from a honey-baked ham and the soup had just a touch of sweet. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Now I see why this recipe is called DELICIOUS ham and potato soup, it really really is and so easy to make. I've had it saved in my recipes for a while now and finally made it today with some leftover ham I had from a ham macaroni salad but I will definitely be making this soup a lot more often! I can't wait for my daughter to get home from school so she can try it and I know my husband will love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Have made this soup tons of times! Simple and fast-everyone loves it. I add corn as well for a extra vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I used 1 tsp of white pepper and no extra salt. Still a little salty but in a really good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamnirt
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was an excellent recipe to use as a base to get started from. I usually follow the recipe as close as I can the first time I make it, but sometimes adjust to suit what is in my fridge. First of all I scaled it back to 4 servings. I skipped celery as I didn't have any, and used up 1 cup of leftover chicken broth. I used red skinned potatoes, and put some extra in. I also added a chopped up small couple of raw carrots and a giant handful of raw green beans chopped up. Used up some leftover ham steak cubed up, and seasoned to taste with salt and pepper (watch as the ham will add its own saltiness). Also added some red pepper flakes. We licked our bowls clean on this one! and was barely enough left over for a small bowl for lunch the next day for one of us. Thanks for a great recipe that is easy to modify to suit what you need to use up in the fridge!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 7,941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States