Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
i really recommend this recipe for everyonewho just loves potato soup this is simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I followed it and added a few more spices and onion soup mix. this recipe is the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Saylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Sautéed the onion and celery with a little carrot for color (as previously suggested) while I was chopping the potatoes. I used a 32 oz container of chicken broth instead of water and boullion, other than that I followed the recipe precisely and wow! Even my sometimes picky other half thought it was perfect! Served with fresh crumbled bacon, shredded cheese and green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Great basic recipe! We topped ours with chives, bacon crumbles, and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina's Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made it. Someone recommended that I try it...It was as good as he said it was. Jamie SoCal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is a delicious potato soup recipe. What I did was chop up double the amount of celery, onions and ham, divide in half and used one half for the soup now, and the other half I put in a vacuum bag in the freezer so the next time I want to make the soup I just add the chopped potatoes and the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good! Reminds me of scalloped potatoes and ham. Lots of slicing and dicing but worth it. Everyone in my family loved it. Good way to use up that left over ham. Thanks. J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Will definitely make again. Only change I made ( I know) is used chicken broth to replace the water. Didn't bother with measuring the potatoes and ham but tried to be close. Thanks for the recipe, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very good recipe! Would definitely make it again. The base recipe is excellent. I didnt have all the ingredients in the recipe so i used spinach and carrots with onion powder. I always salt and pepper to taste so i didnt use the measurements in the recipe. Remember before adding milk to roux (flour & butter mixture) heat until starting to steam. This will help reduce lumps because both mixtures are around the same temperature and will mix smoother than cold milk on hot roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamesintheheatkitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Great soup! I saved the pan drippings from the ham I had made, skimmed it, and added 2 cups of the drippings in place of 2 cups water. I also added a large diced carrot, omitted the salt cause of the pan drippings, and seasoned with pepper, dried chives and thyme. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States