Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Love this recipe. My husband and family just kept praising it. I did add thinly sliced carrot rounds and garden onions, plus in place of milk, I used whipping cream. Other than that, all the same as what recipe called for and served with grilled cheese sandwiches. Will be a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This a simple and delicious potato soup. I did add a couple slices of American cheese, and substituted some of the water with a can of chicken broth. It's a good way to use up leftover ham. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I've been coming across this recipe for years as one of allrecipes top rated but I'm not a big ham fan. Then randomly was in the mood with the rainy cold weather yesterday. I wish I'd made it sooner!!! Quite possibly the best soup I've ever had! I bought pre-diced fully cooked ham (in the refrigerated section near the Bob Evans sides) and used the entire 2 cups (I'm feeding a 30 yr old man and 14 yo teenage boy lol). I used petite red potatoes and just cubed with skin left on. We like thicker, heartier soup so I think I probably used about 2.5 lb potatoes, approx 1 cup diced celery, 1/2 large onion, and 2 cups sliced carrots. I add extra water as needed and used 2 packets chicken bouillon. When I made the rue I also upped those ingredients slightly to compensate for increase in veggies and keep flavor on target. No extra salt needed and I always love to add white pepper to dishes :-) This was so amazing. Ready for batch 2 already!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Home Run in my household. I pretty much stuck to the recipe except for a few minor tweaks. I used 3 Yukon Gold and 1 large red potato, all unpeeled. Instead of the 3-1/4 cups plain water, I boiled two smoked pork hocks for about 1/2 hour and used that. I used two of the large boullion cubes in place of the granules. I couldn't resist a little grated cheddar with snipped scallions in my bowl once it was done. Served with Dill, Sea Salt and Olive Oil flavored Triscuits. Like I said, "Homerun in my household"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Its a great recipe! I added frozen peas to it towards the end of cooking and it really gave a great color, texture, and taste addition. It is second only to a leek soup recipe that I enjoy regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is the best potato soup ever. The only thing I change is using bacon in place of the ham. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This recipe was great really simple and easy things that are around the house without needing to go to the store. But rather then using ham I used bacon and it was good. Next time I'll try ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I followed the directions exactly. I didn't deviate from the recipe at all. No need to. This is a great recipe. I have a house full of picky eaters, but this got devoured by all. I was looking forward to taking some of this for my lunch tomorrow. No such luck. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BG Smooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Excellent! Our kids loved it. We had extra ham leftover & so added more & didn't add as much bouillon as we wanted to avoid some if the salt .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krystina
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
DELISHH! my family (husband and 7 year old) LOVED it all I did was double the recipe because we love left overs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 8,306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States