Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Immediately became my go-to recipe. I have made it for family, guests, and even expanded the recipe to feed over 80 people. Everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Yeah, this one's a good one. One slight change and a few additions. Instead of water and bouillon I used low sodium chicken broth. The additions were: a small bay leaf, a pinch of basil, a pinch of oregano, a pinch of parsley, a clove of minced garlic, and rivels. I also sautéd the onion, garlic, and celery in a dash of olive oil for a few minutes before adding the other ingredients. So good... Like potato soup? Look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
THIS IS THE RECIPE I USE ALL THE TIME WITH A FEW ADJUSTMENTS. I COOK THE POTATOES IN CHICKEN BROTH WITH THE CELERY AND ONIONS AND CHOPPED HAM AND I ADD SOME BACON ,FRIED CRISP AND CRUMBLED, IT GIVES IT A BETTER FLAVOUR. I ALSO ADD SHARP CHEDDAR CHEESE TO THE RUE. I USE A POTATO MASHER TO MAKE IT THICKER. IT IS CHUNKY AND THICKER. OH.. SO GOOD AND RICH. I ALSO ELIMINATE THE SALT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
it seems that my family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I lost the potato soup recipe I have used for years, so I went looking for a new one. I am so glad I lost that recipe because not only did this one take less time to make, it tasted a lot better. The soup was creamy, and had a wonderful flavor. Next time, I might put a little less pepper as it was a little spicy, but still good. I was a little unsure about the celery as I had not used it in potato soup before. I chopped it into small pieces, and it's natural distinctive flavor melded with the other ingredients nicely. Thank you for this quick, simple, and tasty recipe, which I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
followed the recipe exactly and it was great. My kids LOVE cheese so added a cup of cheddar to the rue. Great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eva
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Awesome! It is very easy and i made very quietly . I enjoy and my family love that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Only reason I gave 4 stars is because I changed the recipe. OK I know people are going to be annoyed because I gave any stars and didn't follow the exact recipe. I fried 4 strips bacon and browned the celery, onions and carrots (I added carrots) til tender, then added the same amt of stock - didn't change any of the liquid amts - the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Very easy, and the flavor gets better and better. We have this for supper, and then the leftovers for lunch the following day. The ham flavor really grows, and fills out the dish for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
My MIL has a good recipe but won't share it so I went looking for something I could make on my own. Your recipe is amazing. My youngest son, who's a very picky eater, even loves it! In fact, now he helps make it. Thank you for this recipe, it lives up to its name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 8,675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States