Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We are loving this soup! I followed the recipe but added a few more items; shredded carrots, frozen peas & chopped green beans. I also wanted extra, so I doubled the recipe. I used just 1 tsp of white pepper as the recipe called for, didn't double that. I figured that extra pepper could be added to the individual bowl. Also, instead of doubling the milk mixture I followed the milk mixture for the standard recipe and then I used a pint of cream as the doubling part. I also used russet potatoes diced & left skins on. This soup is so delicious & I think especially with the cream, it tastes like a chowder. Next time I'm going to add a couple of cans of minced clams. The ham is also a great substitute for bacon that becomes soft and fatty in soups. This soup isn't as thick as some people may like but you can add some cornstarch to a portion & mix back into the soup. Also, one last thing, this soup tastes even better two days later. Thanks again, we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Manor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Barney
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Really great recipe I was looking for something to use my leftover ham for and was in the mood for soup and recipe was perfect didn't even have to go to the store. I noticed a few people commenting on the thickness of the soup and I like my soup a little thicker so I added a little extra flour to the rue and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Barney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This soup is AWESOME!! Try it and you'll never search for another potato soup recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made this with gluten free flour and had difficulty thickening the soup so I used a little cornstarch but for the flavor of this soup I give 5 stars. Even my picky kids loved it with crackers and even ate it for breakfast the next morning instead of cereal. Id make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is by far the easiest and BEST potato soup ever! My son and husband always order potato soup at restaurants. They said this was way better than from any restaurant! I reduced the amount of pepper to 1/4 teaspoon which was perfect. I will make this often. Thanks! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This soup was good EXCEPT for few things: 1 teaspoon of pepper was way too much : Burns my tongue and made my eyes watery It needs atleast an extra 1-2 potatoes It could use a little bit more ham ... but other than that it was very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This recipe is wonderful! My husband thought I had bought this soup at a deli nearby and almost didn't believe me when I told him that I made it myself. Best potato soup recipe I've ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made a big batch of this with one big ham bone I put in the slow cooker and let cook on low all night. I added potatoes, celery and onion to the water. Next morning I cut the ham off the bone, added seasonings and thickener. I used a lot of thyme, salt, pepper and herbs de Provence. We are a gluten free family, so instead of flour, I used potato starch instead of the flour..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this the other night and it was delicious! I didn't change anything and added some garlic, carrot and sprinkled some jalapeño cheddar on top. It added a nice kick. Will definitely make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I added a small amount of cream to each serving and 1 cup cubed Vetveta cheese to the pot of soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 8,602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States