Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
WOW. I surprised myself with how amazing this turned out! I don't even like cream soups/potatoes in general, but I had a request from the boyfriend, who devoured bowl after bowl after bowl. I didn't have any ham so I used bacon instead. I cooked the bacon first to let the fat come out, then added all the veggies into the bacon fat. The smoky flavour dispersed so nicely throughout the soup, again - WOW. I also used half a bouillon cube (didn't want it to mask the bacon flavour) and skipped the salt since the bacon & butter already had enough of it (I used low sodium bacon anyways). Deeeelicious! Thanks for this awesome recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
What a great soup! I made a few additions for our tastes: I left the skins on the potatoes, doubled the celery and onion, added 2/3 cup sliced carrot, a tablespoon of minced garlic, and two teaspoons of fresh rosemary. I didn't have enough chicken broth on hand (not a bouillon fan), so I used half chicken and half beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Very good! Only thing is that 2 tbsp. of chix bullion makes it very salty. Think I will try with 2 tsp. next time. Other than that, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Since finding this recipe I will never use another! Everyone loves it! I've never been an exact measurer so I just use as much ham and potatos as I think is good. I also cook it in chicken broth, not water. I add a mix of half&half with milk. It's so yummy. Thank you for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
It just doesn't get any better than this. Next time I'll add more ham but it's perfect the way it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coremega357
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was a excellent soup recipe, such a warm and comforting winter soup, we made it right to the recipe except we used "better then bouillon" and topped it with shredded sharp cheese and some chives. This will be a soup recipe we will make for life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This soup was yummy! The only changes I made was I added chicken stock instead of water, added a bay leaf and added some old cheddar just before we ate it. It was delish and I will make this soup again. Yum yum yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Great soup! Omitted water and chicken bullion and used homemade chicken stock instead. Also added a few shakes of Ms. Dash's Onion & herb and Garlic & herb seasonings. Definitely a good quick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
VERY good soup. I have not made many soups in my lifetime, but I will be making this one again. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobinJones165
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Never thought I could make potato soup which is one of my favorites. This is a very good, very forgiving recipe. Going in the vault! Substitutions I used: Ham = cooked bacon Onion = red onion Potatoes = unpeeled white, red, purple potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 8,315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States