Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Celentano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Added bacon and cheddar cheese. Substituted a can of chicken broth for a cup of water and added no salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I love it and it does rate 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I had two packages of hash browns in the freezer so Iused half of one instead of diced potatoes. It worked out great; usually I make a quiche with leftover ham but this is a great alternate and more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is a favorite winter soup at my house. My kids like to add grated cheese to the top of their bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This kind of soup is right up our alley. I scrubbed the potatoes well and left the skins on because that's our preference, doubled the amount of ham. Also added 1 can of whole kernel corn, drained and swapped out 1 cup of milk for 1 cup of heavy whipping cream. Just as I turned off the heat I stirred in a heaping cup of grated sharp cheddar cheese and when served topped the soup with thinly sliced green onion. The recipe made 4 delicious and hearty servings not 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Immediately became my go-to recipe. I have made it for family, guests, and even expanded the recipe to feed over 80 people. Everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Yeah, this one's a good one. One slight change and a few additions. Instead of water and bouillon I used low sodium chicken broth. The additions were: a small bay leaf, a pinch of basil, a pinch of oregano, a pinch of parsley, a clove of minced garlic, and rivels. I also sautéd the onion, garlic, and celery in a dash of olive oil for a few minutes before adding the other ingredients. So good... Like potato soup? Look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
THIS IS THE RECIPE I USE ALL THE TIME WITH A FEW ADJUSTMENTS. I COOK THE POTATOES IN CHICKEN BROTH WITH THE CELERY AND ONIONS AND CHOPPED HAM AND I ADD SOME BACON ,FRIED CRISP AND CRUMBLED, IT GIVES IT A BETTER FLAVOUR. I ALSO ADD SHARP CHEDDAR CHEESE TO THE RUE. I USE A POTATO MASHER TO MAKE IT THICKER. IT IS CHUNKY AND THICKER. OH.. SO GOOD AND RICH. I ALSO ELIMINATE THE SALT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
it seems that my family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 8,631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States