Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
best recipe ever! I substituted milk with creamer and used ready made chicken stock, but followed the recipe otherwise. My family couldn't get enough, this is definitely a keeper! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Reznik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
A very good Recipe; will fix a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norman Wilson
Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Sauteed 3 leeks (whites only) with the ham; used 1 packet Goya Jabon (Ham) instead of salt. Once leeks were ready, I added potatoes and heavy cream instead of milk - no flour whatsoever - and instead of granular chicken bullion I had the Superior Touch Better Than Chicken Boullion (I doubled the recipe above, so I used enough to make 12 cups base but only used 8 cups water). Once it boiled 10 minutes, I reduced heat for 20 minutes, then hit it with an immersion blender. The best soup I've had in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Love, Love, Love this recipe! I simmered the onion and celery (didn't measure these...just eyeballed what I wanted)and set aside. Brought the diced potatoes and ham to a boil in 4 cups of water (because I had more potatoes). Once that was about ready, I used 6 tbsp. butter and 6ish tbsp. flour. Oh yes I added a can of my green beans to the ham and potatoes. It all came together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie J. Fleming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This soup is perfect! I added a little extra chicken bullion. Next time I will add a little garlic with the celery and potatoes just to mix it up a bit. Bacon would also go well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The only thing I changed is that I used more chicken broth than the water that was asked in the recipe. It's the best potato soup I had ever tasted . My family can't believe that I made it myself. It's now a family favorite . My kids gets so excited every time I make it. They keep come back for more. They can't stop eating more. I felt good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
i really recommend this recipe for everyonewho just loves potato soup this is simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I followed it and added a few more spices and onion soup mix. this recipe is the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Saylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Sautéed the onion and celery with a little carrot for color (as previously suggested) while I was chopping the potatoes. I used a 32 oz container of chicken broth instead of water and boullion, other than that I followed the recipe precisely and wow! Even my sometimes picky other half thought it was perfect! Served with fresh crumbled bacon, shredded cheese and green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Great basic recipe! We topped ours with chives, bacon crumbles, and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina's Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 8,340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States