Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Have made this soup tons of times! Simple and fast-everyone loves it. I add corn as well for a extra vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I used 1 tsp of white pepper and no extra salt. Still a little salty but in a really good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamnirt
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was an excellent recipe to use as a base to get started from. I usually follow the recipe as close as I can the first time I make it, but sometimes adjust to suit what is in my fridge. First of all I scaled it back to 4 servings. I skipped celery as I didn't have any, and used up 1 cup of leftover chicken broth. I used red skinned potatoes, and put some extra in. I also added a chopped up small couple of raw carrots and a giant handful of raw green beans chopped up. Used up some leftover ham steak cubed up, and seasoned to taste with salt and pepper (watch as the ham will add its own saltiness). Also added some red pepper flakes. We licked our bowls clean on this one! and was barely enough left over for a small bowl for lunch the next day for one of us. Thanks for a great recipe that is easy to modify to suit what you need to use up in the fridge!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Sooo good! This soup really hit the spot. Everyone loved it. Next time, I will cut the potatoes smaller and add the salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This soup was AMAZING!! I added steamed and chopped artichoke hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this tonight for a weeknight meal it was good I added more to it like carrots and cheddar cheese me and my husband loveit thanks for recpie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Very good, even the two year old twins loved it. Made it exactly according to recipe but cut about five minutes off cooking time so potatoes didn't get mushy. Will be doubling the recipe next time for my family of seven so we have left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was a very good soup on a cold evening, when I wasn't feeling well. It actually reminded me a lot of my mom's New England Clam Chowder with ham instead of clams. Just good all around comfort food. I made some changes, mostly by accident. I used more like 4 cups of (red) potatoes. And then because I wasn't feeling well, I misread the amount of onion and celery, so ended up using a little more than twice the amount called for. I sautéed the onion in a little oil before adding it to the soup, but that is just a personal preference thing with the onion consistency. I like it soft in a soup, and just boiling it never gets it soft enough for me. I used an 8 oz package of diced ham. I did not add any salt to this recipe because ham and bouillon already have quite a bit. I decided to wait to see if it really needed it later. I used half black pepper, half white. I thought the water looked like not enough liquid, and again because I wasn't feeling well, hadn't read ahead to see how much milk would be added, so I added an extra cup of water. I cooked the milk mixture much longer than the recipe stated to get it to thicken. I finally turned it up to medium heat, and it took more like 10 minutes. The result was yummy, and I have already enjoyed leftovers and will make again. Next time, I will only use 1 tablespoon of bouillon, and half the pepper, and leave out that extra cup of water. Everything else I'll keep just how I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is one of the best recipes! My husband likes this version better than what his mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 7,934) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States