Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I thought it was a very good recipe. I think you need to double the recipe if you have a bigger family. I stuck true to the recipe other than like many I used chicken broth, garlic, some vegetables. It was extremely filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Did w/o ham and still 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was a great potato soup recipe. We didn't add the extra salt that the recipe called for and found it plenty salty enough from the ham and chicken broth. We didn't have any celery on hand so we added some carrots and fresh corn and this was really good! We will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is the greatest ever. I do it exactly the way you describe and it is super amazing. My family absolutely loves it and requests it A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Cawthon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Very good and easy. I didn't have celery but used celery flakes along with about 1/2 tsp garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I had baked a ham and had leftover ham and was looking for a good recipe to use the ham.Found this recipe and made the pot of soup and it was received well by family members( recipe went to the recipe file). Also a good potato soup to share, I have had several people ask me to make the soup for them when they are not feeling well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
The best ever! You do not miss the fact that the soup is milk and not half & half or cream. Comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I've never heard my husband make such a loud "MMMM!" He ate three bowls all while I was finishing up my first one. This is definitely a perfect recipe and we will make again and again. My only regret is that I didn't add salt to taste. Between my bouillon and the ham, it was pretty salty soup, so I'll add less of that next time. I ended up making sweet beer bread muffins to counter some of the saltiness, which was also a hit. This is one that I will double in the future and will be proud to share with company. Absolutely restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe - so much so that this is the first time I'm writing a review. I made a few modifications. I used chicken broth instead of water and added 2 chopped carrots. I also added frozen peas when I combined the milk mixture with the soup. I added about a cup of cheese right before serving and garnished with chopped bacon and chives. AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Superb!!!!!! I truly recommend this recipe...it is delicious and easy to make....I added a diced carrot and mushrooms...instead of water used chicken broth & it was excellent. Thank you for this great recipe it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,020) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States