Delicious Greens and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this, and he doesn't like greens! I used 1 1/2 slices of bacon, chopped, instead of ham since I didn't have any. Left out the tomatoes cause my husband doesn't like those, either. Actually, I added a few slices of dried tomato, chopped, and a dash of creole seasoning. We found out that turnip greens are good, and like them more than kale or mustard greens. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I really liked it. I did use just one tbs vinegar and didn't include the tomatoes since my hubby doesn't like them (although I think they would be good with them too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Yum yum yummy!! Thank you for posting this! We usually eat turnip greens with just bacon or ham, but this is really nice and flavorful. Sliced boiled eggs compliment the taste and look nice as a garnish too. Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very good and the first time I've ever cooked turnip tops. I used a can of stewed tomatoes as I didn't have just plain diced. Nice, ripe and juicy fresh tomatoes would definately be welcome in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I also skipped the tomatoes entirely. I also overdid the ham. It came out quite salty as a result. Anyone who makes a similar mistake: slice in a few potatoes and re-cook until those are tender. Potatoes are great for soaking up salt, and it gives the whole dish a Germanic touch. My kids are not into greenery, but my husband and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
delicious...will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. If I make it again I will only use 1 tbs cider vinegar though; I thought 2 tbs was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was pretty good. I had never eaten turnip greens before and needed a recipe. It looked colorful and healthy and tasted great! We didn't have apple cider vinegar, so we just used white vinegar. I also had to use stewed tomatoes instead of diced. Next time I think I will use diced. All in all, it was quite tasty. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was good! Didn't have ham and used a large chopped yellow tomato and it was really good regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This was a very good and simple way to make turnip greens. I bet it would be good with other types of greens as well. I didn't have enough turnip greens, so I added some spinach I had on hand. I think next time I might add garlic for personal preference...and maybe some chili flakes. But it's good as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States