Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
We've tried lots of different GFCF (Gluten and Casein Free) recipes for pancakes and they were... edible. Most were really flat like tortillas. Not this recipe! My kids had NO clue they were eating gluten free! (My daughter needs enzymes in order to consume wheat or milk products.) She thought they tasted like the real thing. I did change a few things.... instead of the canola oil, I used applesauce. Instead of the buttermilk powder and 2 cups of water, I used almond milk. It was a little runny (so, I'd probably add the almond milk until it was the perfect consistancy.) I also added some dried blueberries to the mix. :) Other than that, they were fluffy & thick and oh so good! The batch was big enough for me to freeze some. Every morning my kids wake up and ask for more yummy pancakes. Thanks a lot for posting this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This recipe is great! I used rice flour from an asian food market because it's ground so fine that you don't get that gritty taste that some rice flours have in the finished product. Instead of artificial sweetener I used one tablespoon of sugar. To one cup of the batter I added 1/2 cup frozen blueberries. To another cup of batter I grated one medium apple and added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. My family loved them and there was no aftertaste that some flours leave. Can't say enough about how great these were!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent! It really does have a consistency and taste comparable to wheat flour pancakes. Much to the dismay of my long suffering family, I've tried many gluten free pancake recipes and store bought mixes...all of which have been disappointing. I made a few changes to adapt to the fact that I couldn't buy dry powdered buttermilk, only dry powdered whole milk. Since I substituted regular milk powder I also added 2 T (heaped) sour cream. I also added 1/3 C additional water as the batter seemed a bit too thick. Instead of xanthan gum I used 4T of gluten substitute. I have found that the gluten substitute replicates the texture of normal wheat flour much better than xanthan gum. Generally you use 2T/20 grams of gluten sub for every 1C/+-100 grams of gluten free flour mix. I also added a can of rinsed blueberries which made them extra tasty! I had extra batter left over which I used the next morning with the same great results. Thank you Joe for this great recipe (my family thanks you even more)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
These are AMAZING pancakes! I couldn't even tell that they were GF! Instead of the 4 T. dry buttermilk and 3 cups water we use 2 T. Vinegar and enough milk to make 2 cups. We also use real sugar. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okalice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I used strawberry applesauce in place of the oil, and soy milk in place of the water/buttermilk powder. This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This is a great recipe! My husband doesn't even know I am using a gluten-free recipe - and I'm not telling him. I did make a few changes, though. I have a grain mill, so I used 1/4 cup brown basmati rice and 1/3 cup regular brown rice milled to make 1 cup flour. I also used 1 1/2 cups lo-fat buttermilk since I didn't have buttermilk powder (use in place of water and buttermilk powder). I don't like the taste of artificial sweetners so I used 8 drops of stevia liquid (an herbal substitute for sugar)in place of the packet of sugar substitute. They turned out great and I have used this recipe for family and guests alike and received rave reviews. No one has even asked me if they are gluten-free. You can add blueberries, too. YUM! Thanks, Joe, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This was my first gluten free recipe experience. The pancakes were excellent. I was afraid my kids wouldn't like them because we are used to eating whole wheat pancakes made with hard white wheat milled in our grain mill, and eat them several times per week. My oldest son who is very picky loved them! He said that they were so good you don't even need syrup with them. The texture was perfect and I am glad I doubled the recipe so I can freeze some. Here are the changes we made: 1 cup freshly ground long grain brown rice flour was what I used for the rice flour rather than art. sweetener, 1 1/2 tbsp maple syrup added to the liquid ing. Just under 2 c. buttermilk rather than milk/powder mixture I also substituted 3 tbsp melted butter for the oil, mixing it into the liquid mixture with a hand blender. So good! This saves breakfast for my pancake eating family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I made this with the following change, I used buttermilk for the liquid and substituted 1/2 cup montina flour for 1/2 cup of the rice flour. These were so good that even those not on gluten free diets thought they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
These are delicious pancakes! My grandchildren are wheat-intolerent, so when they came to stay, I made these pancakes for them. They scarfed them up! My son told me he cooks batches of these, freezes them, and they use them to make sandwiches and snackes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
These were VERY good. And yes, they really are indistinguishable from regular wheat based pancakes. We used them in our waffle iron with excellent results. Our only variation was to use egg substitute. I was out of baking powder but found a recipe for it and happened to have all the ingredients necessary. For anyone who needs it, just mix 1 part baking soda, 1 part cornstarch and 2 parts cream of tartar. For this particular recipe I omitted the cornstarch since the recipe itself already had tapioca starch and potato starch. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States