Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was the first gluten-free recipe I tried from scratch after my daughter was diagnosed with celiac disease. Fantastic! It was a real confidence booster for this overwhelmed mom, too. At first, she also had to avoid dairy, so I used lactose free milk instead of the water and buttermilk powder. Now that she can handle a bit of dairy, I'm making the recipe with the buttermilk powder, but I'm boosting the nutritional value by substituting half of the white rice flour with brown rice flour. Last time I made these I also threw in a tablespoon of flax meal as well. Turned out great, and the whole family likes these better than the pancakes I made before I started cooking GF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is the BEST GF pancake recipes I've had. I've tried all the GF pancake mixes out there and none of them have the right texture. These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Best GFCF pancake we've had! We made it casein free by omitting the dry buttermilk and using coconut milk or rice milk (whatever was on hand) for the water. Sometimes I add Enjoy Life chocolate chips, other times I add diced apple and cinnamon. My pancake deprived 7 and 9 year old thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
It is not utmost perfection, but it is the BEST gluten-free pancake recipe I have found to date. They were nice and fluffy, mostly cooked through quite well. I did have to substitute cornstarch for the potato starch and I used milk with a splash of vinegar in lieu of water plus I didn't add the buttermilk powder (didn't have any). I used a little less liquid to compensate for that loss. I will be making these again for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyceia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Had to do a few substitutions since I didn't have all the ingredients...nonfat dry milk-no tapioca flour so I used half amount of cornstarch...only used 1-1.5 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Best gluten free pancake recipe, ever! Good wheat taste approximation. I use actual sugar instead of sugar substitute, rice milk instead of buttermilk powder in a pinch and melted butter instead of vegetable oil (taste preference). None of these substitutes impact the overall flavor - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
"We should eat gluten free all the time," was the comment from my 7-yr old when I served these for breakfast. My 12 yr old said they were better than regular pancakes to eat plain. I think that is testimony enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great basic g/f pancake recipe. I will try playing with a flour blend next time instead of all rice flour, and when I doubled the batch I used 3 cups of rice milk instead of what would have been 4 cups water & the buttermilk powder. i made a bunch extra and froze them for a quick warm breakfast when we are running short on time, they taste just fine reheated in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The only change I made was substituting 2 cups of milk for the water and buttermilk powder. These were excellent. None of my gluten-eating family could tell the difference. They cooked better when I spread the batter thinly on the pan. This recipe is a keeper, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I never review any recipe, but had to review this one. I have 2 very picky kids who ate 2 large pancakes each after making this recipe. The only change I made was to remove the salt and baking soda (as I didn't have baking soda on hand), and instead I added an extra 1 tsp of baking powder, other than that I followed the recipe to a T. I should also state that I am a NOVICE cook, and found these easy, you just have to watch the pancakes carefully as they burn quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States