Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These are my family's favorite pancakes by far. We don't need to do gluten free anymore for my daughter but these are still the top requested breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Best pancake recipe ever. Light, fluffy and tasty. I added blueberries too. Try this one for sure. Kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This is the second time making this recipe, I'm so glad I tried it again! The first time I made it, they were very flat, come to find out my baking powder was expired! Lesson learned, make sure your leavening is fresh! Aslo this time, I mixed and added the eggs and oil first, that way I could gage the milk (I used Lactaid instead of water) adding just the right amount, so the batter wasn't to watery. Ended up using only half the recommended. I can't wait to try this recipe using apple sauce instead of oil and I think I will try adding a bit of almond meal to the rice flour too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mariacrlopez
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Best i have tried! This one is a keeper for sure. After the 3rd one I cooked my daughter had a bite and was very impressed. She asked if I could add 1 tablespoon flax seed, I said sure way not, and it was still good. We only added flax seed only b/c we know its good for you, not b/c it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariacrlopez

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Awesome!!!! You'd never know they were gluten-free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was a great recipe to start with. Didn't have tapioca so just made it without. I used 2 Tbsp of real sugar, instead of a packet, as we can have that. I cut the oil to 1 Tbsp. 2 cups seemed like a lot of liquid, so I made 1 cup "buttermilk" by splashing about a Tbsp of vinegar in a measuring cup and filling it the rest of the way with milk. Sit for a minute or so, and is nearly indistinguishable from buttermilk. I mixed all dry ingredients and then added oil, beaten eggs, and buttermilk. I then began to mix, adding from a cup of water as needed. I only used approx 1/2 of a cup, for a total of 1 1/2 c of liguid besides oil and egg. Read the post about not getting done in the middle, so cooked it long and low on 2 on the stove (with blueberries) and just flipped once. Only me and my son are GF, and I didn't tell my hubby or daughter these were GF. They both thought we had lost our minds and were eating regular pancakes. The only comment was that they were a little more "spongey" than regular ones, but this was considered a good thing by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I have tried this recipe several times forgetting that each time the end result yields a watery substance. I think the original recipe might of been accurate but now it is anything but accurate. One cup of water, milk or buttermilk will suffice. I hope you read the bad reviews before wasting expensive ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADMARE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Ok, I am NOT in favor of messing with recipes then rating them, AND I am breaking that when it comes to gluten, dairy, free, etc etc as everyone has their own tastes. I loved this recipe. It's the third pancake recipe I have tried. I used the reviewer hint of Brown Rice in stead of White Rice flour, and a few other ideas as I have played with the favors of these flours. I used 1/2c Brown rice Flour, 1/4 c Buckwheat Flour, 1/8c Sourghum Flour, and 1/8c Almond Flour. In place of the buttermilk powder and water I used 2c hemp milk original flavor mixed with 2 TBS white vinegar. I used soy free Earth Balance Buttery Spread in place of the oil, and I used 1 1/2 tbs pure maple syrup in place of the sugar substitute. Mixed all dry ingrediets, melted butter just to make it liquidy, poued all wet ingredients into dry and mixed fairly well. I did add a few blueberrys to the pancakes after they began to cook a bit... if you add blueberries, make sure you cook longer on side two or you will get doughy cakes!! Thank you for a great recipe!! My husband loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I'm new to gluten free. This recipe made an awesome base for the the substitutions I ended up making and in the end tasted exactly like reg. wheat pancakes! I wanted a more whole grain flavor so used brown rice flour instead of white rice. I had no buttermilk powd. so used 2 Tbs. vinegar and enough milk to bring up to 2 cups instead of water. I don't use sugar substitutes so I used 1 1/2 Tbs. pure maple syrup for the sweetner and I love the taste of butter so used 3 Tbs. melted butter instead of oil. Everything else remained the same. It took a few pancakes to learn I had to turn the heat down quite a bit to cook the cakes more slowly so they'd be golden and not burnt. To the cook who found them mushy in the middle--the secret to a great pancake is to only turn them once and that is when they've bubbled and the "sheen" has gone off the entire surface. They'll be cooked every time! I hope you'll try them again. I can't wait to try them with 3/4 C. brown rice flour and 1/4 cup of GF buckwheat flour! BTW, I froze the leftovers separated with waxed paper and simply used the reheat button on the toaster. Excellent for a quick breakfast! I'm also going to try these as a "hamburger bun" substitute for a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This recipe has the best flavor!!! I would certainly cut down on the amount of oil next time though. Way too much for my liking, but other than that it was great! I added cinnamon only because I can't seem to make pancakes without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY1876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lost Nation, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States