Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
It is not utmost perfection, but it is the BEST gluten-free pancake recipe I have found to date. They were nice and fluffy, mostly cooked through quite well. I did have to substitute cornstarch for the potato starch and I used milk with a splash of vinegar in lieu of water plus I didn't add the buttermilk powder (didn't have any). I used a little less liquid to compensate for that loss. I will be making these again for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyceia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Had to do a few substitutions since I didn't have all the ingredients...nonfat dry milk-no tapioca flour so I used half amount of cornstarch...only used 1-1.5 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Best gluten free pancake recipe, ever! Good wheat taste approximation. I use actual sugar instead of sugar substitute, rice milk instead of buttermilk powder in a pinch and melted butter instead of vegetable oil (taste preference). None of these substitutes impact the overall flavor - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
"We should eat gluten free all the time," was the comment from my 7-yr old when I served these for breakfast. My 12 yr old said they were better than regular pancakes to eat plain. I think that is testimony enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great basic g/f pancake recipe. I will try playing with a flour blend next time instead of all rice flour, and when I doubled the batch I used 3 cups of rice milk instead of what would have been 4 cups water & the buttermilk powder. i made a bunch extra and froze them for a quick warm breakfast when we are running short on time, they taste just fine reheated in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The only change I made was substituting 2 cups of milk for the water and buttermilk powder. These were excellent. None of my gluten-eating family could tell the difference. They cooked better when I spread the batter thinly on the pan. This recipe is a keeper, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I never review any recipe, but had to review this one. I have 2 very picky kids who ate 2 large pancakes each after making this recipe. The only change I made was to remove the salt and baking soda (as I didn't have baking soda on hand), and instead I added an extra 1 tsp of baking powder, other than that I followed the recipe to a T. I should also state that I am a NOVICE cook, and found these easy, you just have to watch the pancakes carefully as they burn quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I would give this 5 stars, but 2 cups of water is WAY too much. Every time my husband and I make this, we only need 1/2 cup of water. I also do tapioca starch in place of the potato starch because I never buy potato starch. So, I do 1/3 cup plus 3 Tablespoons tapioca flour/starch. Otherwise, the flavor is great. I leave out the xanthan gum quite often too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
SO yummy. after reading the comments of previous recipe testers I replaced the canola oil with strawberry applesauce and I didnt have any buttermilk powder so I used regular dry milk and they came out PERFECT. not too fluffy, not too thin and even yummier than "regular" pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
these pancakes are simply wonderful! The inly change that I made was to use brown rice flour instead of white, and to use almond milk instead of water and buttermilk powder. My hubby didnt know the difference, which I dont get. These are better than the traditional. Each bite tasted like a bite of custard/ pancake....terrific! So good. I actually threw in a dash of cinnamon. I almost firgot. Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States