Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Ok, I am NOT in favor of messing with recipes then rating them, AND I am breaking that when it comes to gluten, dairy, free, etc etc as everyone has their own tastes. I loved this recipe. It's the third pancake recipe I have tried. I used the reviewer hint of Brown Rice in stead of White Rice flour, and a few other ideas as I have played with the favors of these flours. I used 1/2c Brown rice Flour, 1/4 c Buckwheat Flour, 1/8c Sourghum Flour, and 1/8c Almond Flour. In place of the buttermilk powder and water I used 2c hemp milk original flavor mixed with 2 TBS white vinegar. I used soy free Earth Balance Buttery Spread in place of the oil, and I used 1 1/2 tbs pure maple syrup in place of the sugar substitute. Mixed all dry ingrediets, melted butter just to make it liquidy, poued all wet ingredients into dry and mixed fairly well. I did add a few blueberrys to the pancakes after they began to cook a bit... if you add blueberries, make sure you cook longer on side two or you will get doughy cakes!! Thank you for a great recipe!! My husband loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I'm new to gluten free. This recipe made an awesome base for the the substitutions I ended up making and in the end tasted exactly like reg. wheat pancakes! I wanted a more whole grain flavor so used brown rice flour instead of white rice. I had no buttermilk powd. so used 2 Tbs. vinegar and enough milk to bring up to 2 cups instead of water. I don't use sugar substitutes so I used 1 1/2 Tbs. pure maple syrup for the sweetner and I love the taste of butter so used 3 Tbs. melted butter instead of oil. Everything else remained the same. It took a few pancakes to learn I had to turn the heat down quite a bit to cook the cakes more slowly so they'd be golden and not burnt. To the cook who found them mushy in the middle--the secret to a great pancake is to only turn them once and that is when they've bubbled and the "sheen" has gone off the entire surface. They'll be cooked every time! I hope you'll try them again. I can't wait to try them with 3/4 C. brown rice flour and 1/4 cup of GF buckwheat flour! BTW, I froze the leftovers separated with waxed paper and simply used the reheat button on the toaster. Excellent for a quick breakfast! I'm also going to try these as a "hamburger bun" substitute for a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This recipe has the best flavor!!! I would certainly cut down on the amount of oil next time though. Way too much for my liking, but other than that it was great! I added cinnamon only because I can't seem to make pancakes without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY1876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lost Nation, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I was very surprised with this recipe. We all liked them. Gluten-free recipes are often quite a gamble, though this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These pancakes were light and slightly fluffy, though not thick. The texture is a bit grainy as expected with rice flour, but not bad and the flavor was neutral, the substitutions/additions I made notwithstanding. I subbed coconut oil, agave syrup, and added a tsp of vanilla extract. Note that the recipe made about 30 'regular' sized cakes for me. I used a 1/4 c sized scoop and as the batter is quite thin, 1/2 the scoop full spread to make your typical size pancakes. The stated serving of 10 pancakes would be if you made them dinner plate size! It will be interesting to see how well the numerous leftovers freeze :-) Even the non-gluten-free partakers enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I thought these were quite good, though I don't think they would be easily confused with wheat pancakes. They do not have a GF taste to them but are quite eggy, sort of like a cross between a crepe and a pancake. I suspect, actually, that if the batter were thinned they'd make great crepes! I made the recipe as listed. Next time I will add blueberries to see if they camouflage the egg taste so that they come closer to being like regular pancakes. The egg-i-ness wasn't a bad taste but wasn't really what I was expecting in a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I like these a lot!!! I am trying going gluten free for six months and so far hasn't been that easy. But if I start finding recipes like these I think it will work out.:) thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosepetals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I haven't tried it but it sure looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelvv5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Only use 1 1/2 cups of water, not 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McGroarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bratalie
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Okay, I never review things. I'm not even a member of this site. Well, I wasn't until I felt compelled to join so I could tell you how amazing these really are! I just made them for breakfast, and they're incredible! They really do fluff up like regular pancakes (and if you eat GF, you know what a feat this is)! Despite all of the reviews, I had to make them to see for myself. Mind. Blown. I substituted 1.5 tablespoons of cornstarch for the tapioca flour. And instead of water and buttermilk powder, I poured in soy milk until the consistency seemed right. If I had to critique something, I'd say add a little more sugar. But I do have a bit of a sweet tooth :) Such a good find! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bratalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States