Delicious Gluten-Free Blueberry Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
really good-i used froz rasberries instead and sprinkled a little sugar on top. recipe made 18 medium muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
My sister is on a special diet so our family is new to gluten free cooking. This recipe was delicious; my husband did not know it was gluten free until I told him. The texture is nice and light. The lemon zest and soured milk add to the layers of flavor. I had a request to add more berries, which I will do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Likens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
peaches instead, plus a bit of almond extract, and used coconut oil instead of butter. I baked it in a 9x9 pan and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great recipe with great muffin like texture. The second batch I made I substituted corn flour for the corn meal and used buttermilk. The second batch tasted the same but instead of having a smooth top they were rough and edgy like a bakery muffin. I also use super fine rice flour, it "opens" up the muffin. Have also made them using fresh peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I used a glutenfree flour blend(without xanthan gum) rather than all rice flour, also added 2 tbl of ground flax, and used lemon juice instead of vinegar, baked for 25mins. Preheated the oven to 425F, then lowered it to 375F when I put in the muffins. Wonderful recipe! Great flavour, not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Yum! My non-gluten free kids teens even liked them! I cut sugar to 1/2 cup and used a whole package of frozen blueberries (rinsed with warm water to thaw).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Couldn't even tell they were gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
It is hard to make gluten free food taste as good as the traditional wheat flour based foods, but this recipe is excellent! The cornmeal gives a good texture that hides the rice flour texture. Instead of milk and vinegar, I used some buttermilk and sour cream. I used half the butter, and home grown, freshly milled corn meal instead of bought cornmeal. Some batter didn't fit into my muffin pans, so I made 'muffin tops' in a cake pan, and the batter was stiff enough to make a very good muffin top too. I will be using this recipe without the berries to make cheese muffins and other variations. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
One thing I like about this recipe is the sour milk; I find that makes a better muffin or sweetbread. I found these muffins a bit dry for my taste and not quite sweet enough. The lemon zest was an excellent addition; gave them a bit of a kick. I drizzled the slightly cooled muffins with the juice from half a lemon mixed with sugar, half a cup or so. I filled mu muffin cups to the top and got 14, and they were cooked in 16 minutes. I think I'll try them at 375 next time, with something to moisten them up, maybe some sour cream or applesauce added to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This makes more than 12 muffins, so I had a few extras (not that I minded). I used 1/4 cup honey in place of the sugar, and eliminated the vinegar. This is dewberry season (a wild growing vine filled with small fruit similar to blackberries), so I used them in place of blueberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States