Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Add 1/2 cup of water to a rice cooker. Measure water from bottom of meniscus. Add a dash of vinegar. Prick seven eggs. Place 7 eggs in the steaming basket of a rice cooker. When the cooker dings, the eggs are finished. You have perfect hard-boiled eggs in roughly 12 minutes. Place eggs in bowel and run water on eggs for one or two minutes. Then place eggs in ice water for ten minutes. Roll eggs on table till it is covered with cracks. Start cracking shell at the to top of the egg, the wide part. Then carefully break shell away under running water. Use an egg slicer to slice the hard boiled eggs first in one direction, then in another. To the above recipe add a little less mayonnaise. Use Spectrum Canola mayonnaise purchased from Whole Foods Grocery store. Add half a sweet onion finely chopped. Use fancy paprika. Double the quantity of paprika. Use fresh coarsely ground Tellicherry peppercorns. Add one clove of minced garlic. Add Dijon mustard and Honey Cup honey mustard. Add half a cap (not half a cup) of lemon juice, and a little red wine vinegar. Add dried or fresh dill weed and celery seed. Add a little garlic powder and onion power. Add a dash of Mrs. Dash. Optional: add chopped celery and/or a tiny amount of chopped pickle and/or a tiny amount of pickle relish. Or add a little curry powder in place of pickle or pickle relish. Or add chipotle powder. Start with a little bit of each added ingredient, then add a little more to taste. Don't overpower with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
First time I've made egg mayo and it was dead easy. Tasted lovely to me but got to see what the better half says. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I've used this recipe several times without any adjustments, and it always comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Just perfect! I wanted an egg salad recipe without a lot of other things in it, and this is exactly what I've been looking for. I didn't have green onions, so I substituted a little yellow onion instead. I love this with a little bit more paprika. Thank you for the definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It was great, I went with fat-free mayo and added a little bit more green onions. I forgot to pick up the peprika though. I also went with sour dough so yes the bread was bigger but I just cut it in half and toasted it. It's definitely worth trying with a decent sourdough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mb123
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious and easy to make! I usually love onions, but ran out and used pickles instead. Also I took the advice to use Dijon Mustard and the verdict...Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
HIGHLY recommend finding a different cook time. All I did was ruin 8 eggs cooking them this way. I usually just rolling boil them for 5 minutes, and let them sit for another 10 but I decided to follow the recipe. Boil them as usual if you have a way that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenncrowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was a good basic egg salad recipe. However, I think it needs celery! Also, I used the white onions that I had in my kitchen. BIG mistake! Next time I will use the recommended green onions, or I will use sweet Vidalia. I might try it without additional salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
hubby loved this did add relish per his request. Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is delicious! I made it almost exactly as written, except that I didnt have regular mustard so I used dijon mustard. Yum! I will definitely make this again. Very quick and easy and great for those of us on a budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States