Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Denver James
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very tasty and so easy. I made a hallf sized recipe and added a touch of horseradish sauce for a little heat. Used relish instead of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I'd like to share a recipe with you here since AR hasn't gotten a chance to review and publish my recipe for: "Don't you like squirrel, Patsy? Pasties". Here it is: Pastry for Pasties: 2 cups shortening, 2 cups boiling water, 5-1/2 to 6 cups all-purpose flour, 2 teaspoons salt. Squirrel Filling: 12 red potatoes- peeled, 4 rutabagas- peeled, 2 onions- chopped, 2 pounds ground squirrel, 1 pound ground pork*, 1 tablespoon salt, 2 teaspoons pepper, 2 teaspoons garlic powder, 2 tablespoons butter, Half-and-half (optional) Directions: 1) In a large bowl, stir shortening and water until shortening is melted. Gradually stir in flour and salt until a very soft dough is formed; cover and refrigerate for 1-1/2 hours. 2) Quarter and thinly slice potatoes and rutabagas; place in a large bowl with onions, squirrel, pork and seasonings. 3) Divide dough into 12 equal portions. On a floured surface, roll out one portion at a time into a 10-in. circle. Mound a heaping cup filling on half of each circle; dot with 1 teaspoon butter. Moisten edges with water; fold dough over filling and press edges with a fork to seal. 4) Place on ungreased baking sheets. Cut several slits in top of pasties. Brush with cream if desired. Bake at 350° for 1 hour or until golden brown. Cool on wire racks. Serve hot or cold. Store in the refrigerator. Yield: 12 servings. *If you can’t find ground pork you can use a total of 3 pounds ground squirrel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
we loved this recipe, quick and easy and i like the variations users posted to change this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I just made the recipe and love, love, love it! I spent the day working out hard and knew that I could splurge on the calories. I just don't want to tell my boyfriend that I ate without him because it was soooo good! I made one small substitution. I left the onions out and added 2 Tbs of dill pickle relish. Mmmmnn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great recipe to eat right after making or save for later. Wanted something quick and simple - got it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is a really nice basic egg salad recipe. I've made this twice. Once exactly as the recipe states. The second time I added 1/2 tsp. of dill. You can dress this up anyway you like. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I loved this recipe! I substituted mayo with miracle whip. It gave it a sweeter taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
For people that don't like mayo you can substitute it with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is how my mom used to make it when I was a child and I have never loved a different recipe. Thank you so much for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States