Delicious Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I changed this recipe a little becuase I know that sugar isn't good for dogs and they don't really care for it either. Instead, I used peanut butter (about 1/2 cup). I used 4 beef and 4 chicken bouillon cubes in 2 cups of boiling water instead of milk. I used parsley (about 1/4 cup) instead of paprika (I read a review where someone said parsley helps with dog's breath). I didn't use any poultry seasonings, butter, or milk. Again I don't think it's needed in a dog treat. Next time I think I will put more eggs and add garlic. But with the changes I made the first time, my dogs loved them! And they actually picked them over store bought!! That's a success in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanieskiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were wonderful! Doggie LOVED them, and even I thought they were delicious as cheese-free crackers! I had a little leftover bacon fat in the fridge, so split the butter half & half with that, and added a chicken stock cube to the water. They worked out great and made plenty. Will definitely keep in my recipe box and make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
dogs loved these! I just added a bit of parsley for their breath. used soy milk. will keep these in the refer to keep fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsfalgoutcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I just finished making these and my two dogs went CRAZY for them. They are a definite hit. They'll be very cute to give during the holidays, too! I was nervous about cooking for my dogs, and so I did some research on the ingredients. I did not use milk (can cause gastrointenstinal distress) and replaced it with more water. I mixed the beef bouillon with the bowling water to make a broth. I only added a pinch of sugar each. I did not add the seasonings, I read some conflicting reports on the paprika. I did add just a dash of cayenne. Thank you so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
My puppy loves these! I made my dough without the bouillon and poultry seasoning then divided it in two. I made one batch with the bouillon and poultry seasoning and the other batch with a few shakes of cinnamon. They smelled so good when they were baking. I can't tell which one Bandit likes better ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karissalynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wow! My dogs love it. Even the finicky puppy. Did as others suggested and eliminated sugar and milk and added water and wheat germ also added the parsley to help to freshen breath. Don't know if it has helped with the breath but my dogs would be happy to eat it any time not just for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Way too soft to roll out even with addition of extra flour. I just made drop cookies and the dogs loved them. Next time I will start with three cups of flour or use less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe as the dough was extremely pliable and didn't crack a bit. The smell throughout the house had me making sage biscuits to go with the people dinner. My daughter had a lot of fun playing with the dough while the first batch was baking. The dogs loved it too. Hint: What to do with leftover bacon grease? Use it in place of the butter! Store the grease in the fridge until it's ready to use & follow recipe as with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Easy to make and my dogs love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
this recipe is great as is and my dog loves them. ive also found that its very easy to substitute ingredients, with good results all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jordy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States