Delicious Cinnamon Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These did not turn out as I was hoping. The sugars did not caramelize to make a syrup for the apples. I did stir the apples at 30 minutes before adding water. Stirred again and baked longer in hopes of that yummy syrup but no luck.If I made this again I would reduce the nutmeg to 1/2tsp as it can be can be overpowering. I would also cut the cinnamon in half or just to 1tsp. All of the spices also left a powdery texture:/ I used half Granny Smith half Fuji apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Delicious! It really needs a lot more liquid, though. I took one of the other changes someone else made to heart, and added apple juice instead of water, but I added about a cup. And since I didn't have vanilla sugar, I added a tsp of vanilla to the apple juice. It turned out great! Next time, I may cut back a bit on the cinnamon, it was a tad bit overwhelming. Still added it to my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMCGEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Paris, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
In truth, I only used this recipe as a guide, but it was very good! I used 12 small apples from my tree, as well as an unmeasured amount of butter, brown sugar, white sugar, vanilla, and quick oats. I followed the cooking time, laying, and water parts of the recipe. Once it was done, I stirred in vegan whipped topping that I made. My family really enjoyed it. I will be making this again, but with more butter and quick oats next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was a great way to start breakfast the day after Christmas. We used Granny Smith apples. I didn't have vanilla sugar so added the vanilla to the apple juice. I used 3/4 cup apple juice instead of water. I also cut back on the cinnamon and nutmeg as others suggested. After 30 minutes at 350 - I added the juice and vanilla and turned the over up to 400 degrees. The apples were cooked, but still a bit firm like we like them. We had them over cinnamon pancakes, but would be great over ice cream or oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious alternative to dessert. Had just the right amount of apples about to spoil - kept them from going to waste. I reduced the amount of sugar in half to save the calories - still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Yummy yummy yummy delicious cinnamon baked apples in my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
So easy and tasty! I didn't have enough apples (about 4) and followed the recipe for the most part. I added 4 TBs of water since I had less apples and not the entire sugar and cinnamon mixture. Big Bonus: Baking this dish will make your entire house smell amazing for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I also used this as a guide and I loved it, I used more butter and more cinnamon, but since I had no vanilla sugar, I dripped vanilla over the apples. Turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Yum yum yum. This was so delicious. I used only 3 apples but left the other items about the same and it was perfect. Served over frozen vanilla yogurt...mmmm. Making again this week. And I liked the amount of Nutmeg; gave it a nice bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Dry! The bottom layer was moist. I would try baking it covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States