Delicious Chocolate Cornflake Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great snack to munch on! I used half dark compound chocolate and half chocolate chips so that it won't be so sweet. I kept them in the fridge uncovered overnight and tried them the next day. I prefer them cold rather than just at room temperature. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @nn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made these today to sell at work for Comic Relief. The cakes are delicious but I found the measures not right. I changed it to be for 20 servings with metric measures and after melting the ingredients and adding the cornflakes (I didn't add all the cornflakes as there was not enough choc mixture to cover them)I got 8.5 cakes out of it! I made the same amount again and have managed to get 17 cakes to take into ork. So although delicious, beware of changing the numbers - not sure it works it out correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pink Kitty
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Super easy recipe to do with the kids. We have done both large muffin size (see photo with sprinkles) and mini cupcake size. I recommend using a bain-marie for the chocolate sauce. I reduced the butter content and increased the cornflakes on the second go as following the exact recipe made it overly rich for kiddies. Using a good quality chocolate, some high fiber 7 grain flakes or similar and adding sprinkles takes these to the next level. Serve chilled. Golden Syrup can be bought anywhere that stocks British or Irish foods, it comes in a green can with a lion on the front. Totally makes the recipe, do try and get hold of some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Easy recipe a little tricky to get them to form cakes, I liked them but my kids not so much. Oh well it was something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
These were great, I used milk chocolate and rice krispies instead of cornflakes (I didn't have any in the house) and mixed in some mini m&m's for the kids, they were perfect for my daughters preschool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallmall76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I remember eating these at a party in 1st grade, eons ago. I am SO happy to have found this recipe and will be making it for the holidays. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
These were ok, nothing special. Might make again but only with some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
the recipe was very easy to navigate around, but despite the fact that the choc coated cornflakes were left to set overnight,it was not solid as it slides off each cornflake! might need to freeze it i guess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by racincake
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I had the same trouble when I was looking for crispy cake recipe variations- was surprised this was the only one here. Using cornflakes in isn't my favorite- I used rice crispies instead- I find them easier to eat! Usually people add raisins to these but I went for marshmallows and smarties- you can add m&m's crushed biscuit's.. coconut.. For me decent chocolate is a must but nobody will tell the difference if you use no frills cereal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racincake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Thank you, I have been craving these since I left home! I have been using your recipe for a couple of years now. In Ireland we call it Chocolate Cracknel (sometimes spelled Cracknell/Kracknell). When I was a kid, we would get Chocolate Cracknel as the dessert in school dinners at least once a week. The dinner ladies would make it in big large 13x9" trays, and they would cut them into squares and pour hot English custard over it with a scoop of ice-cream. Because it is my biggest pot, I use my pressure cooker (with the lid off) on very low to melt the chocolate, butter and golden syrup (Karo syrup is the best US substitute), stirring with a wooden spoon. Once totally melted I take my pressure cooker pot off the heat and add the cornflakes and mix in the cornflakes. Using one pot to melt the chocolate etc and mix the cornflakes saves washing more dishes. I use the 15 serving version of this recipe and put it in a 8 or 9" pie dish and cut into triangles or put it in a 8 or 9 " square pan and cut into squares. For my little one, I take a 2 teaspoon mini ice-cream scoop and scoop them into mini paper muffin cups. Once cooled Chocolate Cracknel (if well hidden) can stay fresh in a sealed tin, up to 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States