Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
For the next few days, I'm on an elimination diet(Doctor's orders). That means I can't eat virtually anything. Somehow, this dish is alright for me to eat. Wow! I can't believe how great it tastes. I've never had a chickpea dish with flavors this rich -- and without any fatty coconut milk. My substitutions: I used a lot (roughly 2T) of garam masala instead of the spices listed here, since it's a comparable blend, and dried cranberries for half of the raisins (didn't seem to make much a difference). -- yum! Next time, I might double the sweet potato or even add butternut squash. So tasty and fragrant -- My boyfriend said it smells like Christmas in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was a delicious, healthy and easy recipe. It takes awhile to simmer, but the prep work isn't intensive. The yams, pears and raisins add a nice sweetness-- but it's not overly sweet. It packs quite a punch, though, so if you don't like it spicy, cut down on the cayenne. I used a 32oz. container of vegetable broth from the store instead of the boullion, and forgot to include the cilantro, but it turned out lovely. The dish was great paired with naan bread. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was super tasty! Even my meat-eating family enjoyed it. I made coconut rice to go with it, which balanced the flavors very nicely. I used chicken broth instead of the veggie bullion and used 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon instead of the sticks. I also added some cubed potatoes and summer squash. The flavor was mild, but still very tasty. I think next time I will add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Excellent recipe-I doubled the pears and yams, substituted 1 teaspoon cinnamon for the cinnamon sticks and reduced the cayenne to 1/2 a teaspoon. Not overly sweet-just wonderful and do not double or you will be able to feed the whole neighborhood.Makes plenty as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Piraino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I took about a cup of the mixture and put it in the blender to thicken the dish. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
OH MY! This is AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly and have made this many times with great success! Everyone asks for the recipe. PERFECT! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
So flavorful but just a tad too spicy with that much cayenne . . . and my family likes things spicy. Still, it's a 5-star recipe. And it feels good eating something so healthy that even the kids will gobble up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was an excellent vegetarian curry! I a great blend of sweet/spicy/savory. Just watch out for the cayenne pepper, it was almost TOO spicy for my dad. Without any dairy or meat I was amazed at how good it tasted! Definitely going to be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was fine, but I was underwhelmed compared to all the glowing reviews. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Really yummy! I threw in a cup or so of cooked white Northern beans that I had in the freezer, because I didn't have quite enough chick peas; & I omitted the coriander, because I didn't have any. Didn't matter at all -- this turned out absolutely scrumptious! What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States