Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was yummy. I doubled the pears and halved the cayenne pepper. I will definitely eat again. NOTE: The default picture looks like soup, but it comes out thicker the longer you cook it. I found the consistency to be fine without blending. Next time I might try cooking it all in one pot--seems silly to have a separate pot just for the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I replaced chickpeas with white beans and added cauliflower and it was delicious! I didn't have to cook it as long as the recipe suggests though. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Very spicy but absolutely the best curry I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I have made this recipe numerous times! It is a total favourite. The first time, both my husband and grand daughter didn't want to try it (they said they didn't care for chickpeas and I had made many other Indian dishes for that particular meal), well, I insisted, and they BOTH had seconds! I just forwarded the recipe to my strand daughter to make for a vegan potluck this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Way too spicy for my liking. I couldn't really get a flavor but my husband liked it a lot. I will cut back on the cayenne pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
So delicious! never made curry before, but this tasted like the real deal X3. i didn't have minced ginger, so i ended up using ground ginger from the spice aisle. i also tend to like thick, creamy curries, so i added some half and half and flour to get it there :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Duda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
My husband and I didn't care for this. A little too spicy. FYI The curry is an Indian stye curry, not a Thai style curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by medorajensen
Home Town: West Charleston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made this last night in my pressure cooker. WOW is all I can say. I had to sustitute a can of butter beans because I didnt have 2 cans of garbanzo beans and had to also substitute a finely chopped apple because my husband ate all the pears. This recipe came out fabulous. I might cut back on the raisins a little next time just to see how it would taste. The cayenne pepper gives it just the right kick. FABULOUS - thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have everything on hand, so I used what I had: cauliflower instead of yam, and no pear. I also only put a sprinkle of the cayenne so my little kids would eat it. 1 tsp is a lot of heat! It didn't thicken up much after cooking it for an hour, so I added a little cornstarch. Served over coconut milk rice and it was absolutely delicious. It's a very versatile recipe, but next time I'll try adding the yam & pear in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
No yams or pears in the house, so I made it with an apple and cut the recipe in half. Due to other reviews, I cut the cayenne in 1/4 and it was plenty spicy for a Midwestern palate. Looked great and tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States