Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I replaced chickpeas with white beans and added cauliflower and it was delicious! I didn't have to cook it as long as the recipe suggests though. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Very spicy but absolutely the best curry I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I have made this recipe numerous times! It is a total favourite. The first time, both my husband and grand daughter didn't want to try it (they said they didn't care for chickpeas and I had made many other Indian dishes for that particular meal), well, I insisted, and they BOTH had seconds! I just forwarded the recipe to my strand daughter to make for a vegan potluck this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Way too spicy for my liking. I couldn't really get a flavor but my husband liked it a lot. I will cut back on the cayenne pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
So delicious! never made curry before, but this tasted like the real deal X3. i didn't have minced ginger, so i ended up using ground ginger from the spice aisle. i also tend to like thick, creamy curries, so i added some half and half and flour to get it there :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
My husband and I didn't care for this. A little too spicy. FYI The curry is an Indian stye curry, not a Thai style curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by medorajensen
Home Town: West Charleston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made this last night in my pressure cooker. WOW is all I can say. I had to sustitute a can of butter beans because I didnt have 2 cans of garbanzo beans and had to also substitute a finely chopped apple because my husband ate all the pears. This recipe came out fabulous. I might cut back on the raisins a little next time just to see how it would taste. The cayenne pepper gives it just the right kick. FABULOUS - thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have everything on hand, so I used what I had: cauliflower instead of yam, and no pear. I also only put a sprinkle of the cayenne so my little kids would eat it. 1 tsp is a lot of heat! It didn't thicken up much after cooking it for an hour, so I added a little cornstarch. Served over coconut milk rice and it was absolutely delicious. It's a very versatile recipe, but next time I'll try adding the yam & pear in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
No yams or pears in the house, so I made it with an apple and cut the recipe in half. Due to other reviews, I cut the cayenne in 1/4 and it was plenty spicy for a Midwestern palate. Looked great and tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Really great flavor! Cooked the beans in my pressure cooker and then followed the directions (pretty darn closely for me!) Great flavor - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States